Uncompressed XL H1 footage via HD-SDI to DVCPROHD VTR? - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 29th, 2006, 03:05 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Posts: 306
yeah!

Hilarious feature (or bagatelle)! Great fun!
__________________
Jonas Nyström, DoP :: HOT SHOT® SWEDEN :: www.hotshot.nu :: RED #1567, RED 18-50mm T3 :: XL A1, Letus Extreme :: XL H1, 20X & 6X lens (for sale) :: www.vimeo.com/nystrom
Jonas Nystrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 11:23 AM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Does the Panasonic deck record the 1080 24F signal coming in through SDI as 1080 24F or does it convert it to 720P 24F. I realized that now that Panasonic does both I wasn't sure if this conversion takes place? When you edit the footage if it stays 1080 is it as easy to edit as the 720?
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 12:59 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Springfield, MO, USA
Posts: 389
I thought there was a Panny deck that will do the upconvert to 1080...
Gary McClurg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 05:32 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Gary,
Let me clarify.
I am asking what the Panny deck records. XLH1 HDV is 1080 60i, 30, 24F. Varicam is 720 60-24P. When the Panny deck sees the HD SDI signal from Canon it is 1080. Does the deck record it as 1080 or does it convert it to 720? Does the tape for all intents and purposes act like it was recorded from a Varicam?
Since Panasonic is now making some HD cameras with 1080 signals have the decks caught up so they can record 1080?
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 05:55 PM   #20
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
The deck can record either 1080 or 720.

In the case of the XLH1, it's outputting a 1080/60i signal, with 24F embedded in 60i. That's what the deck would record.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 07:33 PM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Barry,
Thanks that is what I was thinking. So this method doesn't help you to edit in DVCPRO 100HD. It does give you a better recording quality than HDV.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 07:58 PM   #22
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Well... I mean, it does help you edit, if you're using FCP for example. FCP can connect via firewire to that deck and import the footage and work on it in realtime. It's a DVCPRO-HD deck, so the format it records is the same as what FCP (and Avid and Canopus) edit natively. Is that what you meant?
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 08:22 PM   #23
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Springfield, MO, USA
Posts: 389
Thanks Barry...

I thought that the deck out puted 1080 so I was hoping it would record it as well... cool...

Anyone have a clue how much the deck costs...
Gary McClurg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 09:13 PM   #24
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Base MSRP is around $21,000, but you'd also want the firewire and HD-SDI cards, so you're looking at around $30,000 or so.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2006, 09:44 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Springfield, MO, USA
Posts: 389
Thanks... but just a little bit out of my price range right now...
Gary McClurg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2006, 09:04 PM   #26
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Barry,
Thanks for the info. I was actually wondering about Final Cut handling the 1080 signal coming down the firewire. I know FCP can handle the 720 but wasn't sure how it would deal with the 1080 in realtime. Obviously a Kona Card set up.
A client was asking about recording with this method and I realized how murky the actual details were.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2006, 01:51 AM   #27
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Daniel,

I record HDV to SDI or straight live camera to SDI all the time, and it works very very well. With a Kona card or Decklink, the SDI signal just shows up in your capture window, provided you're using the proper capture settings. You can capture 1080i 100mbs DVCproHD and edit easily with a G5. Works quite well. If you want a true 1080p timeline, you have to extract the 3:2 pulldown from the DVCproHD clips in Cinema Tools, but it does work if you're willing to go the extra mile.

I edit H1 material almost exclusively in DVCProHD or PhotoJPEG formats. No problems at all, and it doesn't require a RAID.

Last edited by Barlow Elton; March 31st, 2006 at 02:44 AM.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2006, 02:23 AM   #28
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Epstein
I know FCP can handle the 720 but wasn't sure how it would deal with the 1080 in realtime. Obviously a Kona Card set up.
I can run multiple streams of 1080/60i DVCPRO-HD on my lowly G5 dual 2.0, realtime, from the internal hard disk. You don't need a Kona or anything to do that, firewire is all you need to import the footage. And with FCP 5.1 they've added support for 1080/24pA too.

If you want to see the output on a separate monitor (other than the digital cinema desktop preview) you may need the Kona for that. But for editing, any decently-powerful Mac should be able to handle it.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 03:34 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Leamington, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 25
Witch Panasonic tape deck are we talking about here? Would the Panasonic AJ-SD2551394SDI DVCPRO Digital Video Cassette Recorder work for recording it, or would it only be useable for SD footage?
Brian Langeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2006, 04:21 PM   #30
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Langeman
Witch Panasonic tape deck are we talking about here? Would the Panasonic AJ-SD2551394SDI DVCPRO Digital Video Cassette Recorder work for recording it, or would it only be useable for SD footage?
Yep, only SD. There talking about these decks:

http://catalog2.panasonic.com/webapp...tGroupId=15767
Vincent Rozenberg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:50 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network