XL H1 Custom Presets Download Library - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 17th, 2007, 01:49 PM   #46
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Soeren,

I recommend that you purchase a 1 GB SD card. But not for the purpose of just storing a few bytes.

The XL H1 takes very nice photos. But more importantly, you can set the camera to record the metadata with each photo taken.

This allows you to document each scene. You will record the full custom preset and camera settings. Each photo will be about 1 MB in the ".jpg" format.

Taking a photo, while recording or not, does not interfere in any way with the recording process. Documenting your shots is a great thing to do and is very easy. Just be certain the full depress the "Photo" button as there are two levels of the button.

You may never need to refer to the photos, but you will have them in case you do.

It is unlikely that you will fill up the 1GB card on any regular shoot. Expect around 900 photos in maximum quality mode.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 10:07 PM   #47
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Just got a 2gb SD card from work. Ordered it for $19.99 from newegg. Hope it works. I haven't tried any extra presets yet. I was just wondering if the camera automatically rolls over from the 6 internal to the 20 external. Sounds like it does though I will have to verify this.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2007, 11:15 PM   #48
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Yes Marty it does that automatically.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2007, 04:07 AM   #49
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Ok thanks... I'll get a cheap SD card then.. but I'll try the MMC card too just out of curiosity :-D

Btw. is there anything else to be careful about - especially "formatting" the SD card? Or is this always the same so it doesn't matter if done with some SD card reader/writer or the cam itself?
And then I'll create an all uppercase directory "PRESETS" and put all the CPF files into it...
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2007, 07:09 AM   #50
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
The folder on the card must be "PRESET" not "PRESETS" and must be all capital letters.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2007, 07:40 AM   #51
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
I highly recommend that you initialize your SD card in the camera.

This is preferred over initializing it in your computer as the SD card will be properly formatted. Your computer may (or may not) initialize the card in the proper format.

This is described on page 128 of the XL H1 manual (English Version).

This process will erase any and all data on your SD Card.

1. Turn on your XL H1, by setting the Power Wheel to "VCR/Play".

2. Set the Tape\Card Swith to "Card".

3. Open the Menu (by pressing the Menu Button).

4. Select "Card Operations".

5. Select "Initialize".

6. Select "Execute".

7. Select "Yes" in the confirmation screen.

8. Wait for the initialization to complete.

9. Then remove your SD card and insert it into your computers SD Card Reader's slot.

10. Then, using standard computer procedures, access the SD Card, create a new Directory named "PRESET".

(I will be happy to describe the "standard computer procedures", if requested.)

11. Then copy your Custom Presets to the "PRESET folder.

12. When the flashing light stops, you can then remove your SD Card and re-insert it into your camera.

13. You may then choose to copy up to 6 of your favorite Custom Presets into the internal memory positions of your XL H1.

14. When done, be sure to restore the "Tape\Card" switch to "Tape" for normal camera operation.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #52
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Düsseldorf, Germany / Denver, CO
Posts: 137
Hi again!
The shoot went flawlessly (besides a little tape problem) ... and it was absolutely no problem to use an RS-MMC card "formatted" on the PC (well it was pre-formatted anyways) - of course I meant to write "PRESET", sorry - my bad.
The "PANALOOK" preset was really great (I fine tuned it a bit according to personal taste) and provided the image tweaking I was looking for - thx a bunch especially for this! ;)
So if anyone has an (RS)MMC card lying around: it can be used as well as the SD card standard is defined as being compatible with these smaller (slower) cards....

Cheers,
-Sören
Soeren Mueller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2007, 11:03 AM   #53
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
Hi,
is there any known explanation why some of the presets (the
first seven of A.C.) have 40 bytes and the rest have 39 bytes?

Felix
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2007, 09:42 AM   #54
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 4,086
As some of you guys know, after having tested the Canon XH-A1 for a couple of weeks I am now giving the fixed Sony V1E another chance. Putting its own problems aside, I love its vivid colours and sharp look without too much EE. Hence the question: did anyone succeede to aproximate that kind of picture with an XH preset? If so, could you please post the settings?

If somebody did try but couldn't do it, please share your experience as well...TIA!
__________________
Sony PXW-FS7 | DaVinci Resolve Studio; Magix Vegas Pro; i7-5960X CPU; 64 GB RAM; 2x GTX 1080 8GB GPU; Decklink 4K Extreme 12G; 4x 3TB WD Black in RAID 0; 1TB M.2 NVMe cache drive
Piotr Wozniacki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 04:13 AM   #55
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 60
has anyone attempted to make a PRESET for a Sony PD170 ?? (or PD150, VX2100, VX2000 etc)

(sorry -- but this is for the XHA1, not sure if this matters...)

Last edited by Barry Richard; March 8th, 2007 at 09:12 AM.
Barry Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 03:52 PM   #56
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Can you edit .cpf files outside the camera using a word processor, notepad , etc., or can you only do this the XL-H1 or XH-A1.

Thanks.
Stphen Cannon
Stephen Cannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 04:00 PM   #57
Disjecta
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 937
Yes you can edit them using this nifty program designed specifically for the XHA1: http://www.slashcam.de/artikel/Aktio...and-XH-G1.html
__________________
Try my Digital Therapy: http://www.pinelakefilms.com/digital_therapy.html
Films on ExposureRoom: http://exposureroom.com/members/disjecta.aspx/videos/
Steven Dempsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 05:06 PM   #58
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 47
preset editors

I have written two programs, which can edit the custom presets. One for the
XLH1 and one for the XH A1, either in a mac and a windows version. They
can roughly convert from the XLH1 presets to the XH presets and vice versa.
If you want to download and use it, it´s on your own risk. The software is
beta and provided "as is", without warranty of any kind. Since I have never
made an announcement in the XLH1 forum, I don´t know whether anyone had
tested the XLH1 Editor under realtime. (The XH Editor was first developed)
The link is:

http://www.felixtheissen.com/apps/We...and%20win.html

If someone uses or had used theese apps for the XLH1, I would appreciate
feedback, how it works, because I never had this camera for testing.

Regards - Felix

P.S. There is a XHL1 Editor which generates XLH1 presets in it´s output file
and there is a XH Editor which generates XH A1/G1 presets in it´s output file.
If you download, be sure to download the appropriate app for the camcorder.
As far as I know the XLH1 camcorder itself can not read the presets from the
XH A1/G1 camcorder and vice versa.
Felix Theissen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 05:29 PM   #59
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Port St. Lucie, Florida
Posts: 2,614
That really looks cool Felix! I don't have time to try it now, but I will download it.

Thanks---Mike
__________________
Chapter one, line one. The BH.
Mike Teutsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2007, 07:07 PM   #60
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Thanks for the info on the cpf editors Steven and Mike

Best.

Stephen Cannon
Stephen Cannon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network