PC Cannot REad Canon XLH1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 20th, 2006, 02:10 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Posts: 11
PC Cannot REad Canon XLH1

Hi,

For some reason my PC is not recognizing my Canon XLH1 when i plug it in via Firewire 800. When i plug in my canon XL1s and XL2 the same way- it automatically recognises and i can capture in Premiere 1.5.1 fine- however it doesn't seem to read my xlh1. instead the "add new hardware" wizard appears and says it has found an "A/C Subunit" and to find software to install the hardware correctly. My XLH1 didn't come with software.

Could someone please help me out?

Thanks,

Melanie.
Melanie Pake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 11:24 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 429
There may be a chance this could work:

Windows XP renames two (2) files in the C:\Windows\Inf directory. This is
a hidden directory, so make sure your folder options are set to view
hidden folders.

Find a file that starts with "Msdv.inf" it may have a ".1" or ".f1" at
then end and rename it simply "Msdv.inf"

Then do the same for "Msdv.pnf" Find a file that starts with "Msdv.pnf"
it too may have a ".1" or ".f1" at then end and rename it simply
"Msdv.pnf"
Spike Spiegel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2006, 06:07 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
See if this thread helps, in particular Douglas Spotted Eagle's post about enabling the capture driver.

http://dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.ph...t=service+pack
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 22nd, 2006, 06:55 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Dear Melanie,

May I suggest that you let the "Add Hardward Wizard" complete.

Since you do not have any special XL H1 driver software, just complete the wizard without putting in a disk. There is no special software needed.
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2006, 01:14 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Posts: 11
Re:

Thanks for all the suggestions,

I have let the Add Hardware Wizard finish but it has not found the software recomended.
the only one i have really gotten somewhere about is from Spike.

I do have msdv.pnf however there is no sign of the file called msdv.inf. Only a text file titled msdv.

Could this be the problem?
Melanie Pake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2006, 08:11 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Augusta Georgia
Posts: 5,413
Out of the box, Windows XP hides the file extensions so "msdv" might actually be "msdv.inf".

If you are using Windows XP, then with the folder open, click on tools, folder options, view, then uncheck: "Hide extensions for known file types".
__________________
Dan Keaton
Augusta Georgia
Dan Keaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 28th, 2006, 08:40 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 1,866
I just picked up a little HV10 to use until the XH-A1 arrives. The PC didn't recognize it at first either.

Go to the 3rd post in this thread, click on the link to the 5th post in THAT thread, the one from Douglas Spotted Eagle. Or with the camera connected to the PC and switched to "play", go to the device manager, right click on the AVC device, choose update driver, go to sound, video and game controllers, go to the Sony directory (yes Sony), click on the D-VHS driver.

Shame on you if you aren't willing to get your hands dirty. This is simple.
Tom Roper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2006, 10:51 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Posts: 11
Re:

Thanks for that!

Okay so I my PC reads the XLH1 fine! However there is one difference between capturing with this camera and with the XL2 and XL1s.

Unlike the XL2 and XL1s, after capturing footage from the XLH1, I name the clip and hit save as usual, and then the difference is that a 'Transcoding' dialog box appears. It says it is "Converting to CinePak Intermediate". and converts each frame of the clip I save.

What does this mean? Is it downgrading my HD footage? Is this transcoding a normal happening with capturing from the XLH1 into Premiere Pro 1.5 or does it have to do with the fact that I'm using a Sony Driver?
(My project settings where for HD 1080 and it was a HD tape I was using.)
Melanie Pake is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:01 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network