Can't see video during capture (PPRO 2) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 6th, 2007, 04:35 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warwick, Rhode Island
Posts: 740
Can't see video during capture (PPRO 2)

I am not sure if I`m missing an option on the H1 or premiere, but when I capture video from a tape I can;t see or hear what I`m capturing. Yet if I use the Panosonic DV953 its fine. Is it because its HDV? It defeats the point of capturing to not see what your capturing :\
__________________
Cinematography Site
Nathan Quattrini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 05:04 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 143
I'm on PP2 as well, and thats how it goes when i capture, the capture screen in PP2 goes black, i just use my camera which is only a couple feet away to monitor whats going on, everything has always worked just fine though, no problems with the footage that gets captured.
Benjamin Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 05:50 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 197
I have the same issue, but it always seems to work.
C.S. Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2007, 05:57 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
That is the way it is with PPro 2.0. I'm guessing Adobe felt that it would use to much resources during the capture process. If I recall, Vegas 7 does manage to do it. HDVSplit, a free capture application, also can monitor on the computer screen, but I find that when I have that engaged, there will be an occasional dropped frame or totally dropped capture. Adobe just eliminated that by not doing a preview, since you can watch it on your camera's screen.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2007, 01:33 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 11
does this happen when capturing HD-SDI too in PPro 2?
Alex Kalmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2007, 03:39 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London UK
Posts: 76
Images: 2
When capturing hdsdi i'm sure (its been a while) you can see the footage in the capture window.
Martin Costa is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:52 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network