Apple IO-HD - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders
Canon XL H1S (with SDI), Canon XL H1A (without SDI). Also XL H1.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2007, 08:17 AM   #31
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Burtle View Post
Everyone's opinion of what an acceptable loss in PSNR is will be different. I would personally not group ProRes/DNxHD with Cineform. As Cineform will have significantly less loss at equal bit rates than ProRes or DNxHD.

I like to leave the vague descriptions at the door, and simply refer to truly lossless formats as such. Some wavelet codecs probably are, "visually lossless", but I don't think I would stick that term onto 7:1/10:1 DCT based ones.
Good point. The demo of ProRes I saw on an HD plasma was quite good. I even looked at the material blown up (on the Mac Cinema Display) to look for artifacts and they were difficult to detect. And I was looking at at multi-generationl render of material compared to an uncompressed version.

When we see the full release of FCP Studio 2 and have both CineForm and ProRes to work with, it will be very interesting to compare the two.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 12:31 PM   #32
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
but the Aja IO-HD is ProRes specific yes?
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2007, 02:56 PM   #33
Starway Pictures
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Studio City
Posts: 581
Has anyone priced a Cineform license? Is frickin' expensive and it only works on ONE box.

So your capture station has to have a license. You're producer's MacBook has to have a license. And then there's your editor's workstation (and let's hope he doesn't work on more than one box).

Don't get me wrong. The Cineform folks have created a wonderful product. But it's all about cost and scale.

ProRes 422 HQ may be a DCT codec, but it looks damn good and it's FREE.
Robert Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2007, 12:02 AM   #34
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Barlow, I'm wondering if that miranda box might come into play finally (the HD-sdi, video+timecode+ audio embedder?) I mean yeah it's like 2k vs spending I don't know 100 bucks on cable, but then everything travels down one cable and that's sooo cool! ...hmm maybe not 1900 dollars cooler though.

Robert, I think the other thing to consider is that we are talking about a thing that many of us will never really need. (I know, I know, it's great to go uncompressed, it's the next generation, uncompressed saved my life, blah blah blah) The canon HDV codec holds up really well and I can't help but think that if I really needed something better then I could go prores and that would be more then enough for me. But that's just me.

That being said I totally could see the icon or the indie, if I was needing uncompressed run and gun, but to be honest, if I'm getting run and gun footage I'm probably more worried about focus/frame/white balance and an uncompressed setup will only help me with one of those.
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2007, 02:18 AM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Hiltgen View Post
Barlow, I'm wondering if that miranda box might come into play finally (the HD-sdi, video+timecode+ audio embedder?) I mean yeah it's like 2k vs spending I don't know 100 bucks on cable, but then everything travels down one cable and that's sooo cool! ...hmm maybe not 1900 dollars cooler though.
The one cable thing is nice, but I can definitely think of a lot of stuff I'd rather spend the $1900 on. The Miranda box is useful, but a bit of a luxury in my book.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2007, 12:15 AM   #36
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barlow Elton View Post
The Miranda box is useful, but a bit of a luxury in my book.
Barlow, yeah totally, of course you do realize that we're talking about capturing "uncompressed"ish so isn't everything a luxury? ;)

One day the miranda boxes will drop down to something that I can justify (like 300 bucks) and when that day comes I'll be really upset that I had sold my xl-h1 20 years prior...
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2007, 10:35 AM   #37
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 414
Pardon me if the question is too stupid. Is it correct that IO HD would send the captured video signal to a Mac via Firewire800 cable?
So once one has an IO HD, no other AJA (or the kind) video card will be necessarily built in the Mac?

One more: AJA refers to Macbook Pro and MacPro in their website. If the transfer is via Firewire, I can't see why a G5 cannot handle that.
According to the description of FCS2 in the Apple website, G5-s are compatible with FCS2 - that includes the new ProRes format.
So I assume older Macs will not become obsolete.

Anyone has more detailed info on these? Thanks.
__________________
Sony XDCAM EX1r, Canon 5DMkII, Røde NTG2, Røde NT1000, Røde Stereo Videomic, Sachtler DV6 SB on Gitzo 1325V, Steadicam Merlin, Omnitracker, Hackintosh 3.5Ghz Quad 8Gb RAM
Zsolt Gordos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2007, 02:42 PM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
PCI Express (PCI-E) card to a laptop

Now Avalable...

http://www.magma.com/products/pciexpress/expressbox1/

So you would have to capture to something like Sheer

I wonder how ProRes stands up to Sheer?

seems slightly more portable and slightly less expensive...749$ + card
Albeit slightly less functional in certain areas, more in others (if you can only capture to Pro Res from the Aja HD-IO)

I am specifically thinking of capture from the H1.
Have to wait until I see ProRes & Sheer.

J
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2007, 02:18 AM   #39
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UT
Posts: 945
I'm sure ProRes would be very comparable, but Sheer is actually bit-for-bit the same info as uncompressed. That said, the full quality mode of ProRes is a little more than half the bit rate of Sheer 4:2:2 so it could theoretically work ok with a single SATA drive, whereas Sheer needs a 2 drive SATA RAID typically. Something to consider if ultimate portability is desired, in which case I'm not sure if an internal laptop drive could even keep up with ProRes.

You could always go with DVCPRO HD 1080 if you wanted a decent I-frame codec at a lower data rate, but it's not a perfect format either.
Barlow Elton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2007, 02:29 PM   #40
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Thanks B,
ok so looks like Aja IO-HD is the way
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 06:11 PM   #41
Starway Pictures
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Studio City
Posts: 581
Does anyone know if the AJA IO HD will properly read the pulldown flag of the XLH1 when shooting in 24F. In other words, can I shoot in 24F and then select ProRes 422 HQ and have it work?

Or is this a Final Cut Pro thing and independent of the actual hardware?
Robert Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2007, 08:08 PM   #42
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Sanders View Post
Does anyone know if the AJA IO HD will properly read the pulldown flag of the XLH1 when shooting in 24F.
I don't think they have stated that yet, but it is just standard 3:2 pulldown from the 1080i stream and I believe the Wafian recorder does that already, so I hope so.

However, up to this point Final Cut has yet to support pulldown in any capture input other than direct deck/camera firewire connection.

My fingers are crossed.
__________________
will griffith
producer/editor
Will Griffith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #43
Starway Pictures
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Studio City
Posts: 581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Will Griffith View Post
I don't think they have stated that yet, but it is just standard 3:2 pulldown from the 1080i stream and I believe the Wafian recorder does that already, so I hope so.

However, up to this point Final Cut has yet to support pulldown in any capture input other than direct deck/camera firewire connection.

My fingers are crossed.
Yeah, that's my concern to. It's because the ProRes encode is built into the AJA hardware that I'm concerned about how the pulldown will be handled.
Robert Sanders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2007, 08:30 PM   #44
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Patterson La.
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Sanders View Post
Has anyone priced a Cineform license? Is frickin' expensive and it only works on ONE box.


ProRes 422 HQ may be a DCT codec, but it looks damn good and it's FREE.
3 boxen with deactivate /activate. Also I can attest to the Quality of the footage.(kicks ass)
Have 2 CineForm machines and have had no issues going from box A to Lappy B in a few e-mails
Salah Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2007, 05:38 AM   #45
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 469
If I ever got one of these, I'd build a custom backpack/suitcase that would hold the MacBook Pro, AJA I/O, and an external HDD in place; power them through a portable battery/power pack; and had some retractable legs that would allow you to set the kit up close to the camera. Would make for one hell of an ultra-portable setup for capturing 422 ProRes. Wouldn't cost the earth either.

I have to say, the idea of being being able carry around a small pack with you that can capture your footage without the usual "prosumer" compression artifacts is pretty exciting.
Mark Kenfield is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL H Series HDV Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network