XL1s Stereo 1,2 and dubbing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 10th, 2003, 12:18 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ramah, NM
Posts: 4
XL1s Stereo 1,2 and dubbing

I'd just like to confirm my understanding of this issue. I have the camera set to Stereo 1,2, and am using the on-cam mike along with a wireless mike plugged into ONE of the XLR jacks on the MA-100. Does this mean I still have ONE channel remaining for post dubbing? Thanks.
Duane Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 12:36 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
When you have the cam in 12 bit audio (stereo 1,2) you have 4 channels of audio. The main channels is where the stock stereo mic is plugged in, plus the 2 sub channels.

Provided your NLE (editing package) supports 4 channel, then you will still have 1 channel left over.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10th, 2003, 04:25 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Many NLE's allow many channels of audio. They will mix down to the format that is exported according to how you have the pan and mix settings in the NLE and the audio tracks.

On the camcorder the 4 channels come in pairs. You cannot dub to the 4th channel only without effect on the 3rd channel when using the camcorder.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2003, 04:40 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 14
I haven't been able to get the stock mic to work with a XLR mic. I've tried setting to 12 bit audio and still cannot get the XL1 mic to work with an XLR mic. What gives? What exactly do I need to do to get this to work?

Thanks,
Al
__________________
Make It Happen!!!
Al Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27th, 2003, 11:02 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
There can be several problems.

Problem one is the XLR mic itself. The XL1(S) does not have a balanced input (Sony's PD150 does). You may need to use a audio adapter (MA100, 200, BeachTek, etc) to get balanced audio to work. Some mics require batteries or phantom power so check your mic specs to find out.

Other mics will work with the XL-1. I use a Shure hand mic without adapters.

A number of people have problems because they do not understand what they should have read in the manual (so don't feel like you are the first!). You need to make sure that you are feeding the audio into the correct audio input (Audio 1 [on the handle] or Audio 2 [on the back of the cam]). Then if you are judging the audio through headphones you need to press the audio monitor switch to mix if you want to hear all four channels.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2003, 05:35 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
How do you have things connected.

To have an external mic work reasonably well with the stock mic, you need to do several things.

1. use 12-bit (4 channel) mode.
2. connect the external mic to the Audiio 2 inputs.
3. Be sure you have the levels set correctly for the Audio 2 input.
4. Be sure that the Audio 1/Mic switch is set to MIC (or MIC ATT).
5. Be sure you have the Audio Monitor setting set to the sources you want to monitor.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 3rd, 2003, 10:38 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 14
Thanks Don, I got it to work. I was not setting the monitor correctly.
__________________
Make It Happen!!!
Al Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2003, 07:47 PM   #8
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ramah, NM
Posts: 4
Followup

Thanks for the answers. I want to add the results of my experience with the MA-100 and wireless mikes.

For some reason the Sennheiser wireless kit comes with a SINGLE XLR connector for the receiver. So, depending upon which XLR connector you plug into on the MA-100, you get the sound coming through the left OR right channel of audio 2. BE SURE YOU PUNCH THE AUDIO MONITOR BUTTON TWICE and have your cam setup to 12bit stereo 1,2.

So, you can get two additional mikes using the MA-100 by plugging each mike into just ONE of the XLR connectors. Of course each of those mikes will be mono, one on the left channel of audio 2 and one on the right channel. I haven't noticed any negative aspects to this configuration, but if someone knows of some, please let me know.

The other thing that I've noticed is that whenever I want to transfer the video to my computer, or playback on a monitor, I have to make sure that I have set the cam to 12bit, stereo 1,2 AND punched the audio monitor buttom twice. Otherwise I don't get all of the sound. This seems to hold true when I'm transferring clips BACK to the camera in order to send to VHS, etc.

Most of you I'm sure know this, but I thought someone new might benefit from the clarification.
__________________
Video happens...audio doesn't.
Duane Craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2003, 09:42 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 47
Nathan Gifford

You do have the Audio 1 and Audio 2 backwards, right? Audio 1 is in the back of the camera, Audio 2 is on the handle. Or did I read you wrong.

Trig
__________________
Trig Simon
832 Main
Toledo OH 43605
419-696-0872
Trig Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2003, 09:44 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 47
Nathan Gifford

You do have the Audio 1 and Audio 2 backwards, right? Audio 1 is in the back of the camera, Audio 2 is on the handle. Or did I read you wrong.

Trig
__________________
Trig Simon
832 Main
Toledo OH 43605
419-696-0872
Trig Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2003, 11:38 AM   #11
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ramah, NM
Posts: 4
How the mikes are plugged in

Actually, when I referred to the Audio 1 I was referring to the on-board camera mike. I plug the xlr cables from the MA-100 into the audio 2 jacks on the SIDE of the handle.
__________________
Video happens...audio doesn't.
Duane Craig is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network