Do I really need a Sony to capture a tape made on a Sony Cam? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 22nd, 2008, 02:23 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Do I really need a Sony to capture a tape made on a Sony Cam?

Hi all, I am trying to capture a mass of tapes created on a Sony DV cam, but we have an XL1s hooked up to the editing bay and it won't play the tapes correctly. FCP was giving me all these timecode errors but I then noticed that the audio was not playing correctly.

The audio is not playing even thru the cams headphone jack. In the viewfinder of the XL1s the words Stereo and 16 bit are flashing on and off while playing the tape back. That can't be good. Now what?!? Do I really need a Sony camera to capture a tape recorded on a Sony? arg...

Thanks for ur immediate help, this is a hot one for me!!!
Cheers
HG

Last edited by Herojig Gaton; July 22nd, 2008 at 02:24 PM. Reason: Desperation.
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 03:10 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,609
depends. the tape might have been shot in 12 bit or in LP or any other number of reasons.
I don't use FCP but shot with sonys and use panasonic tapes,capture with an 8 year old jvc 1 chip camera. Works fine. I've also captured tapes shot with Canon GLs andXL cameras so it could be anything.
I would try a Sony camera and see if it works. If not then youneed to find out whether it was shot in LP or DV or DVCAM (depends on the camera).
Don
Don Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 04:02 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Bloom View Post
depends. the tape might have been shot in 12 bit or in LP or any other number of reasons.
I don't use FCP but shot with sonys and use panasonic tapes,capture with an 8 year old jvc 1 chip camera. Works fine. I've also captured tapes shot with Canon GLs andXL cameras so it could be anything.
I would try a Sony camera and see if it works. If not then youneed to find out whether it was shot in LP or DV or DVCAM (depends on the camera).
Don
Don, I found out from a pal in the FCP forum that Sony uses a format called DVCAM that nothing but another Sony will read. This explains why none of our Canons or Pani's can read the tapes. What a lark! Just when u think there is a standard...
thanks...
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 04:08 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
DVCam is used as a choice on certain pro level cameras, but regular DV on all others. It seems to me that if you are getting some image, then DVCam is not the issue. Back a few years ago, I recall issues between tracking with the Canon v. Sony cameras. Everything being laid down on the tape is digiit code, but as I remember, some claimed that where the digital information was laid down on the tape made a difference.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 04:41 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
DVCam is used as a choice on certain pro level cameras, but regular DV on all others. It seems to me that if you are getting some image, then DVCam is not the issue. Back a few years ago, I recall issues between tracking with the Canon v. Sony cameras. Everything being laid down on the tape is digiit code, but as I remember, some claimed that where the digital information was laid down on the tape made a difference.
Hi Chris, I am assuming this IS the problem, as the shooter used a Sony cam that writes both formats DVCAM and DV, and I had captured the tapes using another Sony DV Cam, HDR-FX1, and now we just have Canons and a busted tape deck to do captures. The tapes played fine on the Sony, but not the Canon. It seems the canon is having a hard time decoding the audio, which freaks everything else out, especially FCP. Cheers!
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 05:16 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mahopac, NY
Posts: 276
is it a sony DVCAM camera or a sony DV camera?

it's probably not working because DVCAM is different than DV...the canon will only play DV. With DVCAM, the information is recorded at a different speed...so assuming it's DVCAM, to play it correctly, you need either a DVCAM camera or deck.
__________________
www.AbsoluteMotionVideo.com
Mike Meyerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 06:44 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,291
DVCAM is essentially the same signal as DV, but recorded at a different track pitch (track width and tape speed), and that may cause problem during playback on a non-Sony machine. Note that some Sony DV machines can play back DVCAM although not record it.

Machines like the PD150 and PD170 can do either DV or DVCAM.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 08:53 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Palomaki View Post
DVCAM is essentially the same signal as DV, but recorded at a different track pitch (track width and tape speed), and that may cause problem during playback on a non-Sony machine. Note that some Sony DV machines can play back DVCAM although not record it.

Machines like the PD150 and PD170 can do either DV or DVCAM.
Pretty sure it was recorded on a PD150, that's the camera of choice here in NP. And the capture camera was a HDR-FX1, so this all makes sense now. Except that now I think I have to go rent a Sony for this project...sure wish shooters would label their tapes correctly:)
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 08:57 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Meyerson View Post
is it a sony DVCAM camera or a sony DV camera?

it's probably not working because DVCAM is different than DV...the canon will only play DV. With DVCAM, the information is recorded at a different speed...so assuming it's DVCAM, to play it correctly, you need either a DVCAM camera or deck.
Wow, what do u know! U do need a sony to play back a miniDV tape made by a sony:)
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 22nd, 2008, 09:39 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mahopac, NY
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herojig Gaton View Post
Wow, what do u know! U do need a sony to play back a miniDV tape made by a sony:)
that being said, if it was recorded in DV mode (not DVCAM), the canon camera should be able to play it fine.
__________________
www.AbsoluteMotionVideo.com
Mike Meyerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 08:33 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Meyerson View Post
that being said, if it was recorded in DV mode (not DVCAM), the canon camera should be able to play it fine.
Right! With that all this being said, I guess we should invest in a tape deck that will handle both formats. Can anyone recommend a model? thanks.
HG
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 08:42 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: mahopac, NY
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herojig Gaton View Post
Right! With that all this being said, I guess we should invest in a tape deck that will handle both formats. Can anyone recommend a model? thanks.
HG
Any of the sony DVCAM decks will play (and record) both DVCAM and DV. I'm pretty sure the sony HDV decks will as well, but if you only deal with SD you can save some $$ by just picking up a used DVCAM deck like a DSR-11, 20, 25, 40 or 45.

I have the DSR-25...it's a great deck.
__________________
www.AbsoluteMotionVideo.com
Mike Meyerson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 23rd, 2008, 09:52 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: taiwan
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Meyerson View Post
Any of the sony DVCAM decks will play (and record) both DVCAM and DV. I'm pretty sure the sony HDV decks will as well, but if you only deal with SD you can save some $$ by just picking up a used DVCAM deck like a DSR-11, 20, 25, 40 or 45.

I have the DSR-25...it's a great deck.
Thanks for the tip! the -25 looks sweet. Now to find one in Nepal - Ha!
Herojig Gaton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:44 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network