Help Canon XL1s at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11th, 2003, 08:38 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Help Canon XL1s

When I capture images from my Canon to the computer, I realize
that the frames edges are not establisehed enough ("pixels in moving two last lines and two first lines, too).
Is this a problem from the camera?
I have tested with a different camera(another mark) and the problem does not appear.
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 08:41 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
I believe these are in the overscan area and should not be a problem. If you do a search on 'overscan' you shoud find a number of posts on this subject.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 08:55 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
One very large thread on this subject already exists here.

Take the time to read it, it is well worth it.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 08:55 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Nathan,

ok, but...has your camera this problem?My English is too poor for doing a good chase in the forum:(
Can you help me,please?

Thanks a lot!!
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 08:58 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes, all XL1s have this problem, see the thread I posted above.

As indicated this usually isn't a problem, since:

1) on a TV you won't see it

2) on web output you are going for a lower resolution anyways so just crop the picture slightly before resizing

3) a lot of people go widescreen and add black bars, this covers it as well

You might have problems with a DVD you are watching on a
computer. Or viewing the material on a projector.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 09:33 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Thanks Nathan.

I would like to know English enough to show the frustration I feel at this time.It isnīt serious in a mark like CANON;it needs a calidad control!
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 09:34 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
Thanks Rob,sorry!I am nervous:)
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 09:40 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sunderland, England (y Merida, Mexico)
Posts: 269
Yo hablo espanol asi si quieres te puedo ayudar!!!

I speak spanish, so as you say your english is not that good, if you need help I will be happy to help. And with permission from the MODs you could write in english, but parts in spanish, where you dont understand and I would be happy to guide you in spanish where possible.
Christopher Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 09:48 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
thanks Christopher,

can i send you a mail in Spanish?
I will do it in other moment because now i am going to speak with CANON(Spain)
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11th, 2003, 10:09 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Pontevedra- Spain
Posts: 23
CANON Spain says that they donīt know anything about this problem;They answer me saying to send them my camera...
Eloy Varela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 12th, 2003, 06:59 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sunderland, England (y Merida, Mexico)
Posts: 269
Well it could be expensive to send you camera to CANON. What did they say?

Does the lines appear just on the last two lines...at the very bottom? Im not sure i understand what you problem is but I know this has happened to me with 2 bottom lines having bad pixel lines my SONY Hi-8 when 'digitised', but these 'bad pixel lines' appeared outside of the TV screen area, so you never see them.

If you have any questions or want me to try something and see if its the same, just send me an email. OK.
Christopher Hughes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network