Color noise at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 17th, 2003, 10:24 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Color noise

Anytime i record with my canon xl1s i get random color noise green, red and blue. this noise is rondow and it doesn't matter the lighting condition. i use shutter 1/60 f 2.4 up to 5.6 with no change if you want to see a freeze frame in tiff go to the link

http://www.mr-art.nl/color_noise.tif

I have all the prefernces set to middle. things like sharp, color phase and so on. I have tried it with gain set to 0 db, auto, -3 and still i have this noise.

If anyone knows a solution i would be very graetfull.
Jeffrey Levenstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2003, 01:16 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Your link doesn't work.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2003, 04:44 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Link does work

The link does work but it is a 1mb tiff file. I used it to avoid compression artifacts. I have copy pased that link in my brouwser and the image came up.

Excuse the size of the file
Jeffrey Levenstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2003, 06:56 PM   #4
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Sorry, it comes back a 404; Requested URL not found on this server.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2003, 07:28 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Try this one. It is a one frame mov file


http://www.mr-art.nl/color_noise.mov
Jeffrey Levenstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 17th, 2003, 09:12 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,929
I'm not able to view the Quicktime but the TIF file worked just fine for me. (Jeff, are you sure you weren't accidentally including the period at the end of the URL?)

Is this noise visible in the viewfinder/TV monitor, or is it only apparent after transferring the footage to your computer?

If it's your computer, this is a thread for the experts in one of the two NLE forums. If it's your camera, I'd have it sent in for service.
__________________
All the best,
Robert K S

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | The best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Robert Knecht Schmidt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 18th, 2003, 04:10 AM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks robert for the reply. And yes i see it when i play it back the monitor and TV no matter what the settings are. Do you know how reset the camera to factory default? Maybe that might help. Right now i would try anything to get this to work.


I removed the dot after the link. I thought that might be the reason.
Jeffrey Levenstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2003, 08:32 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Jeffrey,

You do have the s and not the plain XL1, right? Also in what
recording mode where you when you shot this? Did you have
automatic gain turned on by any chance?

What application did you use to capture this frame? [ie, what
NLE are you using?]
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2003, 07:27 AM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 16
Color noise

I have the XL1S. I used the normal mode, not the frame mode. I used -3 DB. I use http://windv.mourek.cz/ to capture. I capture to type 2 DV. I exported this from Discreet Combustion.

And i was also wondering if the is quality loss if in the future i capture thru s-video. from a technical and practical point of view.
My sitation is that i edit on a matrox digisuite le board and i need this data in mjpeg but i havent been able to use any convesion progam to achieve my goal.
Jeffrey Levenstone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2003, 10:06 AM   #10
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The color noise in that picture seems to be coming from insufficient
light... Or at least it looks like that. I've seen that on my XL1s
as well. Some noise is always present, it seems...
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network