MA-200 XLR audio adapter questions - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2002, 05:51 PM   #46
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
If you can try a different mic. I use the MA-200 and I'm very happy with the S/N ratio and it's overall performence. I use the 16bit/48Khz mode. Are you using 12 bit?

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2002, 04:04 PM   #47
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
What noise floor are you measuring with the MA200 installed?

Are you measuring it from AGC mode recording or manual gain recording?
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2002, 11:11 AM   #48
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 42
Ma100/200

I'm just about to buy myself an XL1s and will need XLR inputs. I've done what research I can over the net, but would still like to hear from the users what they think about the two MAs.

Basically I need two XLR inputs and I need them to be reliable, I have read about noice on the MA100 (this forum) and it made me a bit wary about getting it. Has this problem been fixed with the MA 200?

Are there any other issues with either of these options and are there any third party gear that I should contemplate getting instead?

Grateful for any replies.

Regards
Jon
__________________
Real Men do not Preview
Jon Eriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2002, 07:16 PM   #49
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
The MA-100 has a reasonably low noise floor. I measured as follow on my MA-100. But like all electronics there may be a noisy unit ot two in the wild.

With the MA-100 connected to Audio 2, MIC setting, and nothing connected to the MA-100, the XL1 in 12-bit/2 channel mode, and manual gain set to maximum, the residual noise floor in a firewire capture to .WAV file is about -60 dB relative to a saturated square wave (or -57 dB relative to a maximum amplitude sine wave).

In AGC mode, MIC input (e.g., max gain with no input signal), and 16-bit audio mode, the noise floor with the MA-100 connected to auido 1, and nothing connected to the MA-100 is about -67 dB relative to a maximum amplitude sine wave.

At that those level it is possible to pick up additional noise if you are oprerating in an electrically noisy environment. After all, -60 dB relative to the XL1 input sensitivity amounts to about a micro-volt equivalent noise input at the mic jack.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2002, 07:06 AM   #50
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I think you either love the MA-100/200 or you hate. I use the MA-200 and I have zero complaints with it. I like the position of the camera (w/MA-200) on my shoulder and I find it very comfortable. I also use the LightWave http://www.lightwavesystems.com/ SI-XL1 System Isolator which move the viewfinder forward about 2.5 inches and gives it much better balance and aids in the improved comfort level.

The audio from the MA-200 is the same, no complaints. I use good quality audio components and I've had zero problems with the noise level. Alternatives to the Canon units are Beachtex http://www.beachtek.com/ Studio 1 http://www.studio1productions.com/ and Sound Devices http://www.sounddevices.com/index.html I use the Sound Devices pre-amp because I need phantom power for my mics. If you search here you'll find mixed reviews of the Beachtex and Studio 1 products also. Why the mixed reviews? I think because of the many variables involved in evauluating the audio components. Different mics, cables, configuratons, enviorments etc. No two systems and locations are alike.

Jeff

Almost forgot. Check out the sponsors of our community for great service and fair and honest pricing ZGC chttp://www.zgc.com/ Pro Tape http://www.pro-tape.com/ Zotz http://www.zotzdigital.com/ I think you'll see we all agree on what great sponsors they are.
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2002, 09:50 PM   #51
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radcliff, Kentucky
Posts: 10
I need help with the Ma-200.

Let first say I read or more precisely followed the diagrams, and I still can't get a picture from the BNC connection on the MA-200. The XLR connections on the MA-200 seem to be working and I can get a signal using a RCA cable or S cable straight from the camera, but nothing from the bnc connection. Can someone break it down for me Barney Rubel style?! Thanks
Virgoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2002, 08:34 AM   #52
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
I'll ask the obvious, did you connect the video out (RCA) on the camera to the video in (RCA) on the MA200? They do not provide a cable for that with the MA200, you have to provide your own.
__________________
Ed Frazier
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2002, 04:24 PM   #53
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radcliff, Kentucky
Posts: 10
Nothing from MY BNC connection

I have tried everything and I can't get anyhing from my MA-200's BNC connection. I have connected it to the unit with a RCA cable and nothing. I am using a 25 foot coxial cable with a BNC adaptor on one end. Are there any settings on the camera? It works fine with a RCA cable straight from the camera, but nothing from the MA-200.
Virgoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2002, 05:41 PM   #54
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radcliff, Kentucky
Posts: 10
Does it require a special cable?

Do I need a special cable for the MA-200 to work right. I have performed continuity checks, and it should work. :( I am really bummed about this.
Virgoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2002, 06:33 PM   #55
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
Sorry to hear that you're still having problems getting it to work. I've never used the BNC output on my camera so thought I'd better check it out after hearing of your problem. I didn't use any special cables, just connected the RCA video out on camera to RCA video in on the MA200. Output from BNC is fine. Sounds like you've either got a bad cable or bad MA200.
__________________
Ed Frazier
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2002, 11:37 PM   #56
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Radcliff, Kentucky
Posts: 10
it works now.

Thanks for your input Ed. The TV end wouldn't accept the cable coaxial input, so I got a RCA adapter on that end and it works fine. Go figure! Thanks a lot. If you are in any way connected to Canon, please advise them some of there components need more documentation or clarity.
Virgoguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2002, 06:24 AM   #57
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 12
Is MA-200 available anymore?

Some days ago I ordered the MA-200. Now I received email from my dealer who told me that the MA-200 is not available anymore. Canon Finland had told them that manufacturing of MA-200 is finished.

Has any one else heard about this?

--Markus Aalto
Markus Aalto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2002, 07:12 AM   #58
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
FWIW: The MA-200 is still shown on the XL1s accessories page on the Canon USA web site and the UK website XL1s page.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 8th, 2002, 06:12 PM   #59
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Adirondacks of New York
Posts: 210
I tried picking up one in August and September, while I was in NYC. No luck.

B&H, said they would be in stock "within a few weeks".

Tried again just before Turkey day. No luck.

Good luck.
__________________
Himself
Robert J. Wolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2002, 05:47 AM   #60
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
Just checked B&H website and it is listed as "In Stock". I didn't call to verify though.
__________________
Ed Frazier
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network