write timecode on XL1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 11th, 2001, 12:49 PM   #1
ch3cooh1
 
Posts: n/a
write timecode on XL1

Hello from Austria!

As a quite new user of XL1 I have a problem with the timecode. The manual says cassettes should not be stored in the camera - of course. If doing so every time the cassette is inserted the timecode starts new. So it is not possible to get a consistent timecode which I need for batch-capturing. With my old Sony-camera it was possible to write a new timecode after "exposure" of the whole cassette. This feature I cannot find on XL1.
Is there a function I haven't seen so far?
Thanks for any help.

ch3cooh
  Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2001, 03:20 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Just b/u to valid t/c and go

Every time you take the cassette out a new timecode will be generate *EXCEPT* when you back up the tape to a valid t/c. The easy way of doing this is via the record review button on the left side of the cam. You will only need to do this when you remove a tape, or possibly after the heads unload when the cam drops into standby mode.

Standard technique is to do both a pre and post roll on the tape. This makes tape editing easier as well as locating a valid t/c. Using record review you look into the EVF until a valid t/c is displayed. The cam detects the valid and resumes the t/c count from there.

---------------------
Now Chris likes asking questions to the group, so here's one.

You have a tape with a bunch of different t/cs on it. How do you fix it? [psst...there is more than one method!]

Nathan Gifford
---------------------
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2001, 03:57 PM   #3
ch3cooh1
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks Nathan!

Would you please give me also an answer to your own question so I can go on capturing my tape?

Horst
  Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2001, 05:51 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
The school solution in the past has been to do a firewire copy to another machine. This results in a unified timecode.

What are the other solutions? Do they effect the audio, video, or data code on the tape?
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2001, 01:23 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
You can also record to PC.

You are right and it is the simplest solution to record between to firewire devices. However, you can just capture the entire tape to your computer, letting it ignore t/c, and then record it back to the cam.

So I guess, since a computer is also a *firewire device* maybe there is only one method ;-)

Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2001, 05:51 PM   #6
christopher
 
Posts: n/a
An ounce of prevention...

Hi all,

there's another way - simply pre-stripe all your tapes. Just record the tape end to end with colour bars and then wehn you record over it you'll always have timecode no matter what you do.

Take care,
Chris
  Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2001, 06:52 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
I usually think its more trouble than its worth.

I tried pre-striping, but its more trouble than its worth.

Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2001, 07:01 PM   #8
christopher
 
Posts: n/a
Pre-striping

Nathan,

I'm not sure how... (you found it to be more trouble than it's worth).

Just load a tape (I'll do it sometimes while I'm editing) and let it run. Forget about it. If you want, set an alarm for 65mins, change tapes and go again. I'll admit it's a bit of a pain the first couple of times, but once you get used to it (and once you can do great EDLs and batch digitises) you'll wonder how you ever got by before!

Take care,
Chris
  Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2001, 05:14 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Consider that prestriping adds wear on the heads. YOU can avoid he need by developing good shooting habits.

Also some folks have reported playback probems with some camcorders with incomplete erasure when recording over a previously recorded tape.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2001, 08:52 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
I have found that some NLE systems, especially Pinnacle's DV500 and from what I have heard Canopus's DV Raptor have trouble scanning a tape unless it has a continuous time code. With the DV500 it return and error of "No Time Code Found" and aborts tape scan.

I stripe all my tapes and it is a standard DV practise for NLE compatability
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2001, 09:33 AM   #11
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Incomplete erasure has been a problem

I do not prestripe because of the incomplete erasure problem. Good shooting techniques have elminated problems associated with discontinuous t/cs.

Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2001, 09:42 AM   #12
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I'm with Nathan -- I don't pre-stripe either; I don't see the need. All you have to do in order to maintain consistent timecode after powering down or removing the cassette, is use the "rec search minus" button to back up the tape a few frames. Once you pick up a few frames of previously recorded video, the timecode resumes from that point.

Good, diligent shooting habits will prevent timecode breaks from ever occuring. Frankly I would consider timecode breaks to be a result of operator error -- the mechanisms are there to prevent it from happening. It's up to you to actually use the "rec search minus" button -- the camera won't do it for you. These buttons (rec search minus, rec search plus) are found on the camera body, the wireless remote, and VariZoom and Canon remote controllers. It couldn't be any easier!

;-)
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2001, 06:12 PM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
In fact, the only time I've ever encountered a time code break, even if reinserting a tape after removing it from the camcorder, is if the tape inquestin has been played back somewhere before the problem recording session!
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2001, 11:28 PM   #14
Craig Lindvahl
 
Posts: n/a
timcode question

This is sort of a related question. I'm getting ready to post a documentary. I'll be using a JVC BR-DV600 as the source deck for a Media 100 LX-that's how I'll do the offline. I don't want to use the original tapes, naturally, so I thought I'd make a copy from the XL1 to the JVC. Problem is, I can't figure out how to make the time code on the copy exactly the same as the original. Can anyone help me on this? I've tried everything I can think of, including using firewire, but I can't make it work. Thanks
  Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network