XL1 / XL1S various posts - Page 104 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 24th, 2005, 01:16 PM   #1546
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 127
Thanks Chris, I will search!
__________________
Sunny Dhinsey
Director - www.filmlore.tv
Sunny Dhinsey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 03:09 AM   #1547
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1
XL-1 inputs?

Hi,

I'm trying to transfer footage from a TV back onto miniDV of the XL-1.
For some reason, each time I press 'pause' and 'record' simultaneously
in the VCR mode it gives me the error message 'DV IN' in the bottom right hand corner of the viewfinder.

Is it because the XL-1 doesn't have a s-video input(s) in the first place?

Thanks a lot.

Olivier
Olivier Rabenschlag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2005, 05:11 AM   #1548
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Welcome aboard DVInfo.net Olivier!

The XL1 cannot record analog video, that is a feature of the XL1S.
DV-IN is flasing because it isn't detecting a stream coming in from
the firewire (DV IN) connection (which is the only thing that model
understands). Sorry.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 09:49 AM   #1549
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Posts: 711
32k audio from XL1s, Final Cut Express, and iDVD

I edit on both Final Cut Express and iMovie. I'm now working with a Canon XL1s and want to utilize its four channel audio capability. That means the camera will sample the audio at 32k. I've read that iDVD must have 48k audio or it will hang up in stage 3 of encoding.
I currently export my finished video projects as self-contained Final Cut Movies with audio sampling set at 48k. It takes more memory to do this, but I have yet to have a stage 3 hangup.
The question then, is this the only way to insure a successful dvd burn? Can audio be altered in FCE? I've not been able to find any command that does this.
__________________
Waldemar
Waldemar Winkler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2005, 08:35 PM   #1550
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
The FCP preset for your sequence specifies the audio format. Chances are you are using the NTSC-DV preset. That specifies 48KHz 16 bit audio. When you put a clip from your XL1S on the timeline, FCE will show that the audio needs rendering. When you render, it's converting it to 48KHz 16 bit. Basically, it's handled for you.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5th, 2005, 09:27 AM   #1551
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Posts: 711
Thanks. I was hoping that was the case, but couldn't find an answer.
__________________
Waldemar
Waldemar Winkler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 09:18 PM   #1552
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Durango, Colorado, USA
Posts: 711
Troubleshooting the XL1s loading mechanism

Is it time to send my XL1s to Canon for maintenance?

Today my XL1s ate a tape in rewind.
So, I put in a brand new tape. fast forward to end, then rewind. EJECT TAPE warning at almost the same place...approx 12 min from beginning of tape.
Decided to use a tape head cleaner. Would not load. Tried another brand new tape. It would not load. It appeared the loading mechanism was encountering a block.
Ejected tape, and got little coiled spring in my lap. Compared loading mechanism to that of my GL1 and figured out where the little spring came from. Took about an hour to get that little bugger back where it belongs.
Ran the loading mechanism without a tape a few times. After a few hiccups the gears, sliders and other things actually seemed to go where they looked like they belonged.
Took another brand new tape and tried to load it. I not only loaded, but a compete fast forward and rewind encountered no problems.

Repeated the process several times. No glitches.

Should I send to Canon or no?
__________________
Waldemar
Waldemar Winkler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2005, 09:26 PM   #1553
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
First of all, congratulations on that successful operation.

I've heard of several "self-made surgeons" who have tried the same thing as you, but lost their patient on the operating table.

Just to be on the safe said, I think you should send it in for service, which is something you should be doing once a year anyway. Don't mention this incident. They'll check the tape transport mechanism regardless. Good luck, although it sounds like you've already had plenty of good luck,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2005, 02:18 PM   #1554
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10
Shopping in Tokyo

I appreciate any specific advice on Shops in Tokyo where I could shop for XL-1S accesoires over the weekend. I would be interested in an EF adapter XL and/or the 1.6X extender.

Thanks,

Guus Verheijen
Guus Verheijen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2005, 11:16 AM   #1555
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1
Hi there,
Very impressed by all the set ups; I'm looking for some advice regarding an audio set up. I'm looking to buy a wireless kit, like the sennheiser G2 100 series to use along with my regular on board mic. What's the easiest set up? I saw that Ed had ev100 receiver connected to the ma 200, does the ma200 connect to the camera via audio2 rca jacks and thus allow him to use his standard mic as audio 1?
I'd appreciate the info prior to shelling out on anything
Thanks
Emmet Cooke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2005, 04:44 AM   #1556
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Hello Guus and welcome aboard!

One thing we always warn people about when buying abroad is
warranty (garantie). What happens if the piece is defective or
something breaks down when using? I'm not sure Canon Holland
will give you any warranty on items purchased abroad for example.

And sending it to and from Tokyo might not be such a good thing
either. Perhaps it is better to look in Germany? It is usually (much)
cheaper there and far easier for warranty in your case.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2005, 05:53 AM   #1557
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Welcome aboard DVInfo.net Emmet! Why not download the MA200
manual from www.canondv.com and look through it?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2005, 01:16 AM   #1558
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 804
Ken,
I found an article of yours about Canon XL lens.
Would you happen to know the back focal length of any of the lens for XL1/2 ?
Flange distance to CCD.
Thanks a lot,
Dan Diaconu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2005, 02:10 AM   #1559
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Sorry, Dan, no I don't know that. The 16x Manual Auto lens is the only production lens for the XL series that has a flange back adjustment.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2005, 03:45 PM   #1560
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: College Park, MD
Posts: 34
why overly bright in the bright parts of picture

I mostly use the auto recording and don't adjust much of any buttons. Have I missed anything?
Problem is that white light and white objects look extremely white and shining on TV. It's not so obvious on computer screen. I think it's not the problem with the camera, since I've seen similar problem with other people's video.
Thank you
__________________
Leo
Leo Zheng is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network