XL1 / XL1S various posts - Page 105 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 25th, 2005, 05:33 AM   #1561
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Auto exposure uses bottom center weighted metering to come up with the "best" average exposure. Hot spots in the image, especially if outside the metering zone, are likely to be "over exposed" even if the overall image is OK.

Manual exposure allows you to more precisely control highlight vs. shadow exposure to meet your artistic needs. But keep in mind that increasing shadow exposure will tend to blow out highlight, etc.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2005, 07:58 AM   #1562
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mt Laurel, NJ
Posts: 17
Mic adapter

Does anyone know of an adapter for an Audiotechnica AT835ST stereo mic to fit Canon's mic isolation block MM-XL1? The Audiotechnica is way too small of a diameter and right now I have just rolled a quarter roll of electrical tape around the mic to fatten it up. It is effective (and cheap) but I figure someone has to have a better solution that doesn't get all gummy when it gets hot. I can imagine it will be a real mess in a couple of years.

Thanks
Steve Zellers
Steven Zellers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2005, 01:38 AM   #1563
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,589
There should be two different black Canon cylinder sleeves to fit inside the block, one for the XL1 mic, and one for the wider XL1s mic.

If this does not fit, or you do not have one, you may try another solution that I used:

Cut the bottom off of an empty plastic 35mm SLR film canister (not the film roll, but the actual protective canister that the film comes in), and then also cut a split along the cylinder. Wrap the plastic cylinder over the mic stem - overlapping the cut edge if needed - adjust the mic to correct L & R position, and then tighten the MM-XL1 screw down where the plastic edges of the cylinder overlap. The small lip of the film canister should be facing forward (towards the lens) so that it sits tightly against the inner rim of the MM-XL1 clamp.

I hope this helps.
__________________
www.WILDCARP.com
www.NIKON.me.uk
Tony Davies-Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2005, 06:34 AM   #1564
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Mt Laurel, NJ
Posts: 17
I'll give it a try.
Thanks
Steven Zellers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2005, 07:26 PM   #1565
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: new jersey usa
Posts: 38
audio technica AT300 receiver

connecting to XL1s , I have the ma200 should I go to xlr mic imputs or the rca line inputs of the camera? the specs of the receiver:_
Receiving System
Dual independent receivers, automatic-switching diversity

_
Image Rejection
60 dB nominal, 55 dB minimum

_
Signal-to-noise Ratio
110 dB at 35 kHz deviation (IEC-weighted), maximum modulation 75 kHz

_
Total Harmonic Distortion
<=1% (10 kHz deviation at 1 kHz)

_
Sensitivity
24 dBV (S/N 60 dB at 5 kHz deviation, IEC-weighted)

_
Intermediate Frequency
85.38 MHz, 10.7 MHz

_
Audio Output (AF Level set at "0")
Unbalanced: 50 mV (at 1 kHz, 5 kHz deviation, 10k ohm load)
Balanced: 32 mV (at 1 kHz, 5 kHz deviation, 10k ohm load)

_
Output Connectors
Unbalanced: 1/4" TS ("mono") phone jack
Balanced: XLRM-type
__________________
george goltz
George Goltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2005, 10:15 PM   #1566
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: california
Posts: 342
xl1s-fader function

would like to use the fader function with my remote control (bogen/manfrotto) or any other remote control if available.
does anybody has some expirience or advice please

greetings
Karl Heiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2005, 02:13 PM   #1567
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pendleton (near Indianapolis), Indiana USA
Posts: 49
Cold weather: dancing pixels in dark areas

Yesterday, I had a shoot at a pipeline construction site in cold weather. All went well until I noticed some dancing dust visible in the dark areas. I warmed the camera for a while and returned and all was well. They were very small little points of light that looked like about a frame of duration.

Shooting with an XL-1. Any ideas? Was it the cold or something else?

Thanks!
__________________
John Paulsel
Highpoint Productions

"I'd do it for free but I don't!"
John Paulsel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2005, 03:42 PM   #1568
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Sorry but this is not possible through the wired Control-L (LANC) connection.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2005, 10:40 PM   #1569
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: california
Posts: 342
<<<-- Originally posted by Chris Hurd : Sorry but this is not possible through the wired Control-L (LANC) connection. -->>>

hello chris,

thanks for your post. i also contacted canon today, and their answer is the same then yours.
the remote control functions are mechanical function , and the fader is a digital feature..wow did i get this right?

thanks

karl
Karl Heiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2005, 12:31 PM   #1570
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Kent, Washington, USA
Posts: 113
John;
Just returned from a cold weather shoot where the temp went as low as 30F below zero. I had to change tape at - 20, and had no problems such as you have indicated. I have previously been at very low temps. with my XL1 without tape problems, so I don't think temp. is a major problem provided you take normal precautions.
Ron Armstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 03:41 AM   #1571
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Anyone?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2005, 09:06 AM   #1572
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,589
I've just been out with the XL1s in ice-cold conditions - very strong winds and sometimes snowstorms and freezing sleet, that combined to drop temperatures due to the wind-factor - so really put the equipment and lenses through some testing. Luckily, I had a Kata raincover with me, including heavy-duty batteries, and this helped keep everything funtioning smoothly.
__________________
www.WILDCARP.com
www.NIKON.me.uk
Tony Davies-Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2005, 11:22 PM   #1573
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: cali
Posts: 9
16X with MAcro operation

Please help me before Tuesday. I need to shoot some micro technical equipment with my XL1-S and I understand I should use the macro feature of the 16X manual lens.

But what does it do and how do I actually use it? I can't find actual instructions in the manual or on the web. It doesn't appear to have an effect. Maybe I am doing something wrong? What should I expect from this lens and using Macro setting?

thanks,
Tom
Tom Duncan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2005, 12:07 AM   #1574
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Take the lens hood off. Zoom out all the way to full wide. Make sure you have plenty of light. Welcome to macro. As long as you stay at full wide on the zoom, you'll be able to focus to less than half an inch from the lens. Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2005, 02:59 PM   #1575
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fremont,CA. USA
Posts: 50
please help with lcd and light mount

Hello all-

I want to attach my 5" lcd monitor and the vl10li on my xl1s. Does anybody have any idea what kind of bracket I need and where to buy?

Is there anybody here that uses that configuration? How is it?
__________________
To be.....or not to be
Joven OHara is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network