XL1 / XL1S various posts - Page 112 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 16th, 2005, 06:58 AM   #1666
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Enterprise, AL
Posts: 857
Bruce,

Someone else here recommended Firewire Depot for 90 degree Firewire cables. B&H doesn't stock any that I could find.
__________________
Fear No Weevil!
Patrick King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2005, 08:24 PM   #1667
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Those cables are not cheap.

I have used this supplier:
http://www.ntcdistributing.com/products/fwangled.htm

I did a google on "right angle firewire" and there were other hits.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2005, 08:36 PM   #1668
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
Here's a simple setup. Adjust to taste.

The 3x lens has an ND filter. Turn it on.
Set Gain to -3db
Set White balance to A
Use Tv mode with shutter speed set to 60.

When you are onsite shooting a scene, look to see if the camera is selecting an aperture greater than 8, increase the shutter speed until you get the aperture to 8 or less.

Press Exposure lock to keep the camera from recalculating the settings. If you want it to auto adjust, then don't lock the exposure.

Experiment with your camera and learn how it works. Observe the results. THen read the manual again. More of it will make sense. Pick a topic and search for discussions here and learn.
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2005, 07:08 PM   #1669
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 8
VHS to DV

Is there a way to record from VHS tape into the XL1.

Jeff
Jeff Kerry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22nd, 2005, 08:51 PM   #1670
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 47
Sure there is.

Connect your vhs video and audio outs to the back of the xl1, put that baby in vtr mode and away you go.
Denis Murphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2005, 05:27 AM   #1671
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
The original XL1 does not support analog video input, only from the IEEE1394 input and through the lens. Thus you would have to pass the signal through an analog-to-DV converter..

However, the XL1s model does.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 23rd, 2005, 07:28 AM   #1672
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10
Sigma 50-500 Bigma & XL1s

I would welcome any comments (e.g. camera settings. aperture range to be used) concerning first hand experience with this lens coupled to an XL1s. I have recently acquired one (DG version) and one of my first lessons was that I need a ND filter ASAP.

Thanks,

Guus
Guus Verheijen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2005, 12:40 AM   #1673
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Render Settings when using "frame mode" on Xl1s?

I'm having some trouble determining what settings to put when I render out my xl1s footage when I shoot in "frame mode". I'm using Avid Xpress Pro to capture and to edit. When I export it gives the option for "file field order" of course odd (upper fields) and even (lower fields) or Single Field.

What do I set the field order to when shooting in this mode?
Is there some sort of interpret footage in Avid like in Premiere Pro?

Thanks for the help,

-Daniel
Daniel Vivanco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2005, 05:04 AM   #1674
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Daniel,

I believe you should just capture it as you would normal 60i video. That's the way it's going to come out of the camera. No need to mess with field order. What you will have in frame mode is cleaner motion signature without the interlace 'jaggies'. The video may appear to be more strobe-like but any single frame should be clean. This mode is often used when you know in advance you will be lifting stills out of the video.

regards,

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:37 PM   #1675
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 260
Black side bars on XL1 not XL1-S?

Why is footage shot on an XL1 has black side bars and footage shot on the XL1-S does not? Or am I missing something?

Thasnks for any info
Doug Bennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31st, 2005, 03:44 PM   #1676
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
See http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=1743
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 06:47 PM   #1677
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Timecode on XL1s

Noob question here. If I am shooting the same event on multiple tapes, how do I keep the timecode continuous between tapes? I usually go through 2-3 tapes for each event i shoot and the TC always resets at the start of the next tape. How do I keep the timecode continuous from tape to tape?
Ryan Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2005, 07:24 PM   #1678
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Ryan,

Unless I'm mistaken, you can't do that with the XL1s. That's one of the features that was added to the XL-2. I don't know what NLE you're using, but most will allow you to 'name' the reel and then you'll log clips from that reel (tape). Just name the reel the same as you label your tapes and it won't be confusing.

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2005, 09:01 AM   #1679
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 9
Used Warranty

Isn't there s uch thing as purchasing a warranty for a used camera.. I though B&H had them.
Andrew Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2005, 06:52 PM   #1680
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Hmmm. I've not heard of any on the same sense as a new warranty from the manufacturer. I suppose some dealers migh offer a short term warranty (e.g., 30 to 90 days) on used gear, and you may be able to buy a third party maintenance/service agreement, but used equipment is an "iffy" thing, and it might be costly.

Have you tried to google the subject?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network