Xl1s On manual exposure occasionally flickers at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2003, 03:16 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 22
Xl1s On manual exposure occasionally flickers

Has anyone experienced an exposure problem with the XL1s? I find it a great camera, but on manual, with no camera movement and constant unchanging lighting, the exposure seems to occasionally go down, then back up again. It's not a fantastic change and only lasts a second, but it's enough to cause the shot to be completely ruined. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.
C.J. Cookson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2003, 04:37 PM   #2
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Do you have image stabilization on or off when it happens?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2003, 05:06 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Dittos on the OIS needing to be off. Make sure you are in M manual mode as some of the other modes may make adjustments to shutter and iris.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 01:15 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 22
The stabilisation is left off and the camera is in M mode. It happens most noticeably in moderate light, where the f is at 1.6, but the camera never moves and the lighting never changes. I do actually recall reading a post a year ago regarding this problem, but unfortunately can't remember the exact details and can't find it when searching.
C.J. Cookson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 01:24 AM   #5
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
If you aren't zooming or focusing and it is a static shot then your camera has a problem. The problem is trouble shooting an intermittent problem like that. The service technician has to pretty much be watching the camera when it happens.

I would talk to Canon and see what they advise on getting your camera serviced. They may have encountered this problem before and advise you to send it in.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 12:49 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 22
Thanks for the suggestion

I contacted Canon about three months ago, and in two 'phone conversations they said it must be something I'm doing wrong as the camera doesn't exhibit any faults like that! I have it captured on film, so I'll probably do them a couple of clips and they can take it from there. Trouble is, every time I send a Canon camera to Canon with a fault, they always say it's perfect, regardless of the evidence I give them! Oh, well....
C.J. Cookson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 04:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 83
CJ,

Are you experiencing these problems when using a particular type of adapter or started having these problems after using one?

Gareth
Gareth Trezise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 04:39 PM   #8
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Yes/no on zooming. You can have that kind of a problem when zooming with the iris wide open.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 05:08 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 22
No to zooming

Actually, your suggestions are greatly appreciated...

The camera is placed on a tripod and the autostabilisation is off. There is no zooming or camera movement - it just points forward.
The shot is set inside in fixed lighting conditions, just perhaps a guy at a desk talking on the 'phone - then occasionally for no apparent reason the light flickers down and up for a second.

JUST A THOUGHT... I've just checked the camera and my understanding of Manual mode is that you have total creative freedom of exposure, et al. However, the exposure bar in the viewfinder will go up and down when the guy moves slightly (this would suggest the exposure is still on auto?)

So, as an experiment, I set it to AV and locked the exposure - and hey presto, the exposure bar goes up and down with slight movement! Am I doing something wrong, or is AV mode with exposure locked supposed to actually lock the exposure (allowing fine adjustment by hand)????
C.J. Cookson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2003, 09:50 PM   #10
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
AV mode is not manual. It's Aperture Value (what the rest of the camera world calls Aperture Priority). M is manual. In AV you set the aperture or lens opening and the camera actively adjusts the shutter speed (brightening and darkening the picture in the process) as the scene changes.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2003, 01:04 AM   #11
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 22
Ahhh...

(AV mode is not manual. It's Aperture Value (what the rest of the camera world calls Aperture Priority). M is manual. In AV you set the aperture or lens opening and the camera actively adjusts the shutter speed (brightening and darkening the picture in the process) as the scene changes)

Okay, I think I understand that my experiment with AV was less than useful... however, as my problem was when I was in Manual, isn't the shutter speed and aperture both supposed to be controlled manually when in manual? Aren't they both supposed to be fixed in Manual?

I'm sorry to ask what is probably a stupid question, but the instruction book is less than helpful and I'm trying to look for a way of stopping sudden dips in darkness for no apparent reason by locking exposure and shutter speed... I really would like to avoid sending it to Canon if I can.
C.J. Cookson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2003, 07:43 AM   #12
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Yes, if the camera is in Manual both aperture and shutter speed are locked. Exceptions are zooming the lens while in manual. The lens is a variable aperture lens and when zoomed will change the aperture in some circumstances i.e. aperture wide open at F1.6 etc. IS may also cause slight exposure fluctuations.

How are you powering your camera during your experiments, batteries or house current?
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2003, 03:40 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 22
Good question!

That's a very good point! I used mainly batteries, but it was only really noticeable when it was on house mains via the Canon power adapter/charger. Can electrical surges cause dips in exposure when plugged into the mains?
C.J. Cookson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2003, 04:41 PM   #14
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
It could be the power supply having problems. Living in the US I can't really comment on 240v systems, but I've seen odd occurrence on 120v. Try duplicating your problems with battery power and all M settings.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2003, 04:38 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 477
C.J., have you made sure that you put your GAIN mode switch to "0"? If you leave it on the "A" setting, it will adjust for any light changes....even in "MANUAL" mode.
Andrew Clark is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:51 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network