XL1 no device control with DV-Storm 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 20th, 2003, 01:13 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 2
XL1 no device control with DV-Storm 2

Hi all

I have asked this question on the Canopus board, but no one seemed to be able to help me out, so maybe some here encountered this problem.
A friend of mine recently bought an XL1 and a Canopus DV-Storm 2 with Premiere Pro to start editing. We installed everything, with the Canopus PPro driver update, but we no matter what we try, we can't use device control. The software sees the camera, and we can capture manually, but it says all the time that "the tape is ejected". The device control in PPro is set to Canopus.
Next step we tried to capture via all the Storm software (Video, Edit and the new capture utility), but all the same, no device control.
We are at the end of our wits. Anyone any hints what we overlooked?

cheers

richard & dan
Richard Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2003, 05:25 AM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,299
Are the operating system files up-to-date with all patches and updates?
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 04:42 PM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 2
Yes, eveything is up to date. Latest windows patches and canopus patches. No patches from PPro as they still do no exist.

cheers

rich
Richard Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2003, 02:52 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Sounds like a board or cable problem. Do you have any generic
firewire card and other cables you can try? The idea is to narrow
the search down to the link in the chain that is actually causing
the problem (in theory it can even be the camera). Device control
in PPRo should be set to Canon - XL1.

I bet the moment you'll put it a generic firewire board all will
work. Ofcourse you won't have the advantages of the extras
the Canopus board offers.

Also, what operating system are you running?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network