Time lapse with XL1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 12th, 2002, 04:34 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 23
Time lapse with XL1

Hello,

I mainly use my XL1 (not s) to film volcanic activities. I will be very interested in to known
if there is a an intervalometer (time lapse) in the vast list of accesories for the Xl1. Please let me known.

By ways,thank so lot for all the people organizing this forum.
Pierre
Pierre Vetsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2002, 03:39 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The old XL1 does not have timelapse, the newer XL1-S model
does. Some Non Linear Editors (like Adobe Premiere) support
Stop Motion capture which can be used for timelapse (but you
need to record the event in real-time though first)... I also seem
to remember there are boxes that you hookup through LAN-C
with your camera that allow the cam to do timelapse when they
natively don't, not sure about this though.

Hope this answers your question.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2002, 11:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 290
I've done timelapse trillions of times with my XL1 (not s). All you need is a non linear editor capable of time lapse capture like MotoDV. Just shoot in frame mode normally or at whatever low shutter speed you want. Then when you are done you set the capture to grab one frame for every 10 seconds or so (it is completely variable). Your finished Quicktime or AVI will be super smooth timelapse! I usually like to take a laptop or whatever on location so I don't have to record to tape first.
Joe Redifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2002, 03:04 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 23
Thanks for the answer.

I'm not a professional (only geologist) but my idea was to do time lapse in "direct" with the camera and a "boxe" (accesories?) because I need to let it filming by short period of about 10 sec during 12 or more hours for e.g. to really see long term movments at the surface of a lava lake to be precise.

Sorry the subject is no more in "General Topics"
but anyways...
Pierre
Pierre Vetsch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2002, 07:05 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There are a few basic ways to do timelapse:

1. with a camera that supports it (like the XL1-S)
2. might be possible with a LANC device, but I could
not find any on the web with some searches
3. manually. Hit the record button for a coupe of
seconds every x hours
4. record it all and do timelapse in your NLE. If the
event has a duration of 12 hours you tape 12
hours (12 tapes)
5. perhaps an external storage device like the
firestore can do timelapse?

that is about all the things you have I think. You might
use 4 in a combination with 5 a bit in a different way
though. If you bring along a laptop computer with a
firewire and NLE on it, you can just put your camera
in record mode without actually recording (XL1 standby
"feature" might be messing this up though) and have
your NLE on that laptop record a couple of frames each
time, this way you do not need that much tape. But
ofcourse, you do need to keep your camera out of
standby mode and have batteries for both the camera
and laptop to run that long. Unless you bring a portable
power solution ofcourse....

That about sums it up I think.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2002, 10:43 AM   #6
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
timelapse

I just record the whole thing and speed it up in premeire.

you can do that with any non-linear program.

pretty simple.
__________________
Adam Lawrence
eatdrink Media
Las Vegas NV
www.eatdrinkmedia.com
Adam Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2002, 12:52 PM   #7
DV Creators
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hollywood
Posts: 91
There's some software here:

http://www.bensoftware.com/index.html

that claims to capture time lapse over a long period of time (sometimes an hour- or even three hours is not long enough)

anyone tried it?
Josh Mellicker is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network