Insert Recording ? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2004, 12:49 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1
Insert Recording ?

From what I can tell the XL1s has the ability to do insert recording ie record stock footage through the video line in. My XL1 doesn't seem to be able to do this. Is that correct? (It will see an analog signal, but only the audio) Secondly, if it is not able to do insert recording is there an upgrade available that will allow this to be possible.
Thanks
Adam Brailsford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2004, 01:35 PM   #2
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Insert recording requires 2 of the same cams. Don't know if the XL1 has that consumer ability.
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2004, 01:41 PM   #3
Air China Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 2,389
Adam, is there any particular reason why you wanted to insert the footage into the cam and not in the editing stage when the video is on your computer?
__________________
--
Visit http://www.KeithLoh.com | stuff about living in Vancouver | My Flickr photo gallery
Keith Loh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2004, 08:44 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 143
We use insert edits to throw heads and tails on programs or insert graphics and such for live switched shows so we don't have to digitize the complete program just for those short clips. I don't belive any of the DV cameras do frame accurate editing, or for that matter if firewire itself would support it. I believe you need RS232 or 422 control. Check out decks and see what you can find.

I haven't used any DV decks for inserts yet. Still using the Sony UVW1800.

I would be interested in hearing what you find.
__________________
Michael Rosenberger
Sure I'll shoot your wedding, for two million dollars.
Michael Rosenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2004, 09:47 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 143
Whoops, nevermind about the frame accurate inserts. Read your question wrong.

The original XL-1 didn't have video in? How do you have it setup for the insert of the video?
__________________
Michael Rosenberger
Sure I'll shoot your wedding, for two million dollars.
Michael Rosenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2004, 11:53 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
S can XL-1 Cannot

Canon did not leave this feature out on the XL-1S. However, the XL-1 cannot do video in from the composite connectors.

[Live from San Antonio]
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network