connect xl1 in winXP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 20th, 2002, 06:05 AM   #1
orginalkillen
 
Posts: n/a
connect xl1 in winXP

Im trying to connect my xl1 tom my computer with winXP. When i do it says that i found a AVC /device and there is no drivers for it. I there anyone that have had the same problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2002, 07:43 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
There is no problem. The XL1 does not need any drivers to
operate. It only needs an NLE which does firewire (I think every
NLE that is currently out there on the PC market does) and a
DV codec which XP has installed by default.

So, you are set to go!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2002, 12:02 PM   #3
Sponsor: JET DV
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 7,873
I plugged an XL-1 into an XP machine and it simply asked me if I wanted to capture some video and offered to start the program installed with XP. (I politely declined and loaded a decent NLE for that purpose).
Edward Troxel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2002, 04:09 PM   #4
orginalkillen
 
Posts: n/a
I have tried different cameras with xp but only when i put in my xl1 it says it found some new hardware and no driver. My xl1 is one of the first that came out so maybe i need to send it to canon for an firmwareupgrade?
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2002, 04:13 PM   #5
orginalkillen
 
Posts: n/a
<<<-- Originally posted by orginalkillen : I have tried different cameras with xp but only when i put in my xl1 it says it found some new hardware and no driver. My xl1 is one of the first that came out so maybe i need to send it to canon for an firmwareupgrade? -->>>

I forgot to mention that i have done this for 3 years and i have a NLE with firewire ect.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2002, 05:58 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Just ignore the thing that XP tells you. It will not bother you
anymore about this. The question is, does your camera work
with your NLE? It is totally irrelevant what XP thinks about it.
Check with your NLE, if it works nothing is wrong. If it doesn't,
you can start to look at what is wrong. I highly doubt it is
something with your XL1 or its firmware.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22nd, 2002, 06:25 AM   #7
orginalkillen
 
Posts: n/a
<<<-- Originally posted by orginalkillen : <<<-- Originally posted by orginalkillen : I have tried different cameras with xp but only when i put in my xl1 it says it found some new hardware and no driver. My xl1 is one of the first that came out so maybe i need to send it to canon for an firmwareupgrade? -->>>

I forgot to mention that i have done this for 3 years and i have a NLE with firewire ect. -->>>


there is nothing wrong with my NLE but i tried my fathers digital 8 and it came up with the same thing. So im gonna remove xp and go back to trusty old win2k and get express dv up and running. The other thing is that my system allways goes down when im somewhere and really want to use my system to make some film. aargh! well i new at this community and im impressed of all you nice people that give help so fast. a big thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 24th, 2002, 03:09 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I still do not know what the problem is. You are only saying that
XP pops up a message that it has found new hardware. That
would be okay with me. Does it also not work? What is the real
problem? I would not easily go back to an older OS just for such
a reason, but that might be me.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network