Windowburn | Timecode to VHS at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 21st, 2004, 03:38 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7
Windowburn | Timecode to VHS

Hello,

I'm trying to export directly from the XL-1s to a VHS cassette with the timecode.

I'm trying to keep my raw footage on the mini DV tape pristine, and use the VHS to log the timecodes of sections i want to capture.

In Canon's manual, the EVF button seems like it's supposed to enable this, however, nothing happens when I press the button.

I'm in the XL-1s' VCR mode and see the timecode in the viewfinder. But the image on my TV monitor does not show the timecode.

Does anyone know how to do a windowburn to a VHS cassette/make the timecode show up on the VHS worktape?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Therese Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2004, 08:22 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
With the XL1, you press the "On Screen" button on the remote. The XL1s may have the same functionability.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22nd, 2004, 08:51 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7
Thanks

I called Canon before I read your post, and they told me the same thing you wrote. It does work.

Canon tech support says you should be able to get the timecode to show up on the TV monitor through the "onscreen button" on the remote and with the "TV screen" on the camera. I never got it to work through the camera's menu -- just through the remote.

Thanks again for your help-
Therese Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 06:09 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
It will ONLY work through the remote. There is no such button
on the camera itself. There is an info detail toggle button on the
camera, but that is for information in the viewfinder while recording.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2004, 08:40 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
There is a "TV SCREEN" button on the WL-D73 remote that came with the GL1.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2004, 02:56 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7
Thank you all for responding -- it's been helpful to read your comments.
Therese Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 7th, 2004, 08:12 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Northridge, CA
Posts: 5
You may NEED the remote with the XL1 to accomplish this, but that is not the case with the XL1s.

On the XL1s, you can indeed get viewfinder information to be passed to a monitor - under the 'DISP. SET UP' part of the menu, choose 'TV SCREEN' and turn it ON or OFF.

This is exactly how I get all the viewfinder info to pass to my mounted LCD monitor.

-Ken
Ken Saltzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2005, 09:06 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 263
Hello :-)

Did you check this??

If you get the info to display on-screen, it doesn't record on the tape, it is for operational purposes.

Please correct me if I am wrong, but that is how I read it and have used it numerous times. I don't think the XL1 has any option to burn timecode, the XL2 on the other hand does. I own both, but never needed this feature, so I could stand corrected.

I would be interested in your results :-)
__________________
AM
Anthony Marotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2005, 11:15 AM   #9
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The timecode burn-in function is called Character Record.

It is not available on the XL1. It is available on the XL1S and XL2.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2005, 12:57 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 263
Hi

That's what I thought, I however did not know about the XL1S :-)
__________________
AM
Anthony Marotti is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network