The DV in/out on my new XL1S is not working at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 26th, 2004, 11:15 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 250
The DV in/out on my new XL1S is not working

Hi
I need help. I am not having any luck getting my new camera to connect via the firwire c able. It has been good so far but I have only had it from new a week and I wonder if there is some little thing I need to check. I have 2 computers and none work. I have tried another cable too but the problem exists.
Have I flicked a switch on the camera by mistake/
Regards
Dennis Robinson
Perth Australia.
__________________
Dennis Robinson
G5, , 30 inch display, FCP6 Studio 2, JVC-GYHD111
Dennis Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 26th, 2004, 11:22 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
See if you can borrow another miniDV camera from someone to test on your computer. You may have a blown firewire port in your XL1s.
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 05:57 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Some systems like to have the camcorder connected and powered on before the PC is powered up.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 05:20 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden - Helsingborg
Posts: 283
Dennis,

IF you had your cam on when you plugged it in to the computer you fried the firewire port. I did that and had to replace the mainboard. It was coverd by the warrenty for me.
I hope you have the same luck.

Once again to all reading, NEVER have your cam on when connecting firewire to it..

Good Luck Dennis!

/Andreas..
Andreas Fernbrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 07:04 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 250
Thanks Andreas,
In the past using a Sony 900, I have always plugged and unplugged whenever and did the same with the Canon.
It is under warranty but I will be without it while it is being repaired, and it is so inconvenient. How long did it take to fix? What is a motherboard? Is it something that will go straight in and only take an hour to replace?
Regards,
Dennis
__________________
Dennis Robinson
G5, , 30 inch display, FCP6 Studio 2, JVC-GYHD111
Dennis Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 10:12 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Dennis,

Your post is lacking in detail. What did you do to come to the
conclusion it is not working? Simply plugging something in is no
indication. Did you start an application to work with the camera,
if so, which. What did the application say?

What operating system are you running?

Not having your XL1S might be inconvenient. But not being able
to capture your footage is as well.

I would test every combination before sending it in, personally.

In what mode was your XL1S running?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 02:20 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 15
I have somewhat the same problem - but it may be a non-problem. I was able to control a GL1 through the firewire - start- stop - etc. I can't control the XL1S. All that I can do is press play on the Camera - and capture to my PC. Should you be able to control the XL1S like the GL1? I was using some stupid simple program like Windows move shaker or something to that effect,
Doug Struchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 08:21 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 250
Thanks for your replies. The firwire is working with other cameras so it appears that my XL1s has blown a firewire port like I have read about here. I have since been told by a few posts and now by the retailer that the camera should never be turned on while the cables are connected. I got caught and didnt know. I am using Premiere Pro and my ibook has imovie and Final Cut Express, so the fault is definately in the camera. I just wish I had of known the dangers of plugging and unplugging willy-nilly
__________________
Dennis Robinson
G5, , 30 inch display, FCP6 Studio 2, JVC-GYHD111
Dennis Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2004, 05:16 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I've plugged and un-plugged my XL1S with computer and camera
on and off and everything in between without any problems at
all.

Doug: yes, you should be able to control your XL1S in that fashion.
I can with Vegas and Premiere.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2004, 05:27 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sweden - Helsingborg
Posts: 283
Rob, Then you are lucky. I've read it sometimes have to do with the firewire cable quality. Bad cables increses the chance of a fried motherboard/mainboard.

I did it once, there was a spark between the cable and the cam, and it never worked again. I did a search on the problem and was told by a Canon Service guy here in Sweden to never have my cam on with connecting the firewire to the camera. And I've followed his advice and will in the future too.

Dennis, It took about 2 weeks here in Sweden. They had to get a new mainboard from Brussels. A mainboard is the main electronic component in the camera. Most signals and signal processing goes through the mainboard/motherboard and could in some ways be compared to the mainboard/motherboard in a computer.

Plan your time with no camera to fit a time when you don't have to shoot. If you have a lot of shoots coming up, plan them so you get some off time from shooting. Call your nearest canon service center to get a idea of their workload and for how you will be cam less.

Sorry for my bad English...

/Andreas
Andreas Fernbrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2004, 06:13 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 250
I have also just found out that as well as the firewire port not working, I am unable to get a signal from an external mic
Seems like nothing is able to go in or out. The on camera mic works but that is all.
__________________
Dennis Robinson
G5, , 30 inch display, FCP6 Studio 2, JVC-GYHD111
Dennis Robinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2004, 07:38 AM   #12
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Are you sure you've setup the audio correctly? Perhaps it is indeed
time to send the camera in for servicing.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2004, 07:51 AM   #13
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Like Rob I have never had any problems plugging and uplugging my firewire cables. I'll have to go check some notes, but I believe the spec on firewire allows for hot-swapping.

I have had problems with the NLE s/w not detecting the camera; that's an OS/applicaction problem.

Since you are using an external mic, be sure you have carefully set the correct controls and that the mic will work with the S's non-XLR system.
__________________
Nathan Gifford
Southern Cyclist Magazine & Productions

For quick answers try our Search!
To see me and Rob Lohman click here
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network