Transfer movie from XL1s to PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 23rd, 2004, 07:05 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Molbourne - Australia
Posts: 6
Transfer movie from XL1s to PC

Hi;
Recently for the first time I tried to transfer my movie from my XL1s to my computer but my PC didn't recognised it. It says no Digital device connected but when I use my sony and panasonic camera it work. What is wrong I don't know? I use fire wire to trasfer my videos.

thank you
__________________
Kamali
Edris Kamali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2004, 07:15 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,380
What type capture program are you using?
Mark Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2004, 03:07 AM   #3
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Did you have your XL1S turned on and in VCR mode? Might also
be a problem with your firewire cable.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2004, 06:57 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North Canton, Ohio
Posts: 109
Are you using Windows XP? or Mac. I couldnt help you with macintosh at all as I do not have any experience beyond looking at one :) but Windows XP can almost detect anything as soon as it is plugged in. I personally dont use my XL1s for transferring footage to my PC as it wears on the heads of the deck faster than if you only recorded with it. I use my JVC dvl915 weakling (but still nice consumer camera) to transfer footage and for playback. It now stirkes me as odd since I don't remember getting any driver CD with my xl1s kit. If yours came with a driver CD stick it in and let it do its thing when your computer tells you it cant recognize the new device that was installed, or contact canon where they may be able to direct you to a driver for the xl1s.

edit: that is only if you are sure that it was in VCR mode ;)
Christopher Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2004, 06:54 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
I just tested with my XL-1 and it does not have to be in VCR mode to be recognized under Windows XP Home Edition. It will put out a live A/V feed tthrough the firewire port with or without a tape. I had the camera in full manual setting. Windows even lets me snap a still picture of the video (not using the photo button on the camera) by clicking take picture.

Hope this helps. I would assume the XL-1s is capable of the same thing in this regard.


regards,
Greg Boston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network