can xl1s pass analog in signals to firewire live? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 17th, 2004, 04:45 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
can xl1s pass analog in signals to firewire live?

i have a VHS tape that i'm playing back and outputting via RCA and S-Video into XL1s and then i'm connecting XL1s to computer thinking i can dub my VHS live into the computer. it wasn't working. can this be done?
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17th, 2004, 06:03 PM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
No, this can't be done. BUT, you can go through tape. So you can
record (only on the S model!) the incoming analog signal to tape
first. Then you can capture that tape. It is all in the manual, a bit
crude, but it is there.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2004, 11:51 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
with all that technology and this simple thing can't be done? *sigh* i expect too much sometimes =).
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2004, 02:46 PM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Well, there is probably a good reason for that. If they could've
easily included that they would probably have done it 3 years
ago.

There are ofcourse several analog to DV convertors and DV
decks which can do that and work great in your edit suite to
use as a video output for a monitor / TV.

The XL1S can do it (the XL1 couldn't). Just not in one go.... Sorry.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29th, 2004, 10:47 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 17
Well Ive done it a few times. Just press record on the xl1 without pressing play to record to tape.
Hugo Leveille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2004, 04:35 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Hugo: are you saying you did this without recording to tape
and capturing that? In other words you did this directly from
analog to digital?

If so please take a look at this thread.

Now try to reproduce your steps and write down exactly what
you did since only that editor in that thread seems to be able
to do it and nobody else.

p.s. as you can see I also did a test with having the camera
in record-pause mode but it just displayed black on my computer.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2004, 11:47 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
doesn't work.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 30th, 2004, 04:02 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 17
Damn my mistake. I've done it, but with my GL-2.

I'm very sorry
Hugo Leveille is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 1st, 2004, 04:04 AM   #9
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Thought so Hugo. Thanks for checking and clearing it up!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 06:51 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 125
<<<-- Originally posted by Rob Lohman : Well, there is probably a good reason for that. If they could've
easily included that they would probably have done it 3 years
ago.

There are ofcourse several analog to DV convertors and DV
decks which can do that and work great in your edit suite to
use as a video output for a monitor / TV.

The XL1S can do it (the XL1 couldn't). Just not in one go.... Sorry. -->>>

A cheaper alternative to analog to DV converters and DV decks is a low-cost miniDV camera that has analog to digital pass-through.

I use a JVC GRD70. Any video source that goes into it goes out as a digital signal, which I can grab using "Capture Now" in Final Cut Pro's Log & Capture window.

It also functions as a video output for my monitor/TV. One can pick up a GRD70 or similar camcorder for less than $300. Even if you can find an analog to DV converter for a similar price, you'd be sacrificing a few pretty handy functions, because a miniDV camcorder also works as a capture and print-to-video deck, not to mention a backup / 2nd camera when you're out on a shoot.
Murad Toor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 12th, 2004, 07:27 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
i just got the canon optura 10 for that purpose. dunno if all the features work yet... will test it soon.
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2004, 04:36 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,564
hi guys, i have just tested the optura 10, it does include the a/d passthrough. it is AWESOME!!!! WOO HOO!!!! i'm connecting my S-VHS to the cam and then it is passing the signal through firewire!!! wowowowowo!!! i had hoped that xl2 would do this but oh well!!! =). rock n roll guys! thx!
__________________
bow wow wow
Yi Fong Yu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2004, 01:07 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 125
congratulations. it's always great when you get stuff to work.
Murad Toor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network