Canon 3x wide angle lens questions - Page 11 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 9th, 2004, 01:26 PM   #151
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
No, it is not a fisheye lens.
__________________
Jeff Donald
Carpe Diem




Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Where to Buy? From the best in the business: DVinfo.net sponsors
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2004, 05:17 PM   #152
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Field of view is roughly comparable to a 28 mm lens on a 35mm still camera.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2004, 11:21 PM   #153
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 47
Excellent. That's all I needed to know. Thanks for the help.
Nicholas Foster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2004, 05:16 AM   #154
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,137
Nicholas, if you have the chance to get one go for it. You will be surprised how often you will use it. Bob Safay
Bob Safay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2004, 01:42 PM   #155
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torotnto, Canada
Posts: 139
I second that!!

I love the lens! It does wonders for making you work not look like it is shot with a cheap DV camera, the added perspective makes the images more interesting.
__________________
www.digitalcrossing.ca www.4kafrica.com
documentary filmmaker/screen writer
Michael Dalton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 09:41 PM   #156
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: toronto
Posts: 99
3X lens min focus: 3/4" or 0.5m...?

Canon site says it's 3/4" at wide end, while Adorama says it is 0.5m... which is it?

http://consumer.usa.canon.com/ir/controller?act=ModelFeaturesAct&fcategoryid=115&modelid=8274

http://www.adorama.com/US%20%20%20%20171962.html
Roger Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2004, 09:42 PM   #157
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: toronto
Posts: 99
Because if it's 3/4" it may be possible to use this lens like a macro? Maybe to use this lens for a Agus35 or
Alain35?
Roger Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2004, 04:10 PM   #158
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 327
HELP! 3x lens stopped working... WTF?!!!

I'm in the middle of a shoot right now. We're shooting nights right now, and last night my 3x lens stopped working.

I've checked everything I can think of:

-Lens is seated correctly
-Lens control pins are clean.
-Iris set full open.
-ND off.
-Tested gain at all settings.
-Yes, the lens cap was off :)
-Shutter was where it should be.
-16x lens works FINE.
-There is no "check lens" warning flashing.

I can see all the HUD info in the viewfinder and on the monitor, but the image is BLACK. I'm on a 1st generation XL1. I've reasoned that the iris in the lens has locked closed or the control pins have 'shorted' somehow(?).

I really don't want to (and can barely afford to) send it in, although I may have no choice...

Anyone have any ideas?
__________________
Matt Irwin
DP / matt.irwincine.com
Matt Irwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2004, 07:28 AM   #159
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Are other lenses still working? If so then it is a good bet that your
3x lens is busted. If other lenses are not working the camera is
busted and the lens probably as well.

Now to check and give out a word of warning, NEVER EVER CHANGE
THE LENS ON THE XL1/XL1S/XL2 WITHOUT POWERING DOWN THE
CAMERA FIRST!!

Now you didn't do this, right? Otherwise you might have busted
the circuit in the lens for example. If the camera was powered
down then something else has broken somehow. If other lenses
still work you can reasonably assume it is the 3x lens and send
that to Canon. Otherwise both the lens and camera have to be
send it.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2004, 01:23 PM   #160
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 327
Well....... That explains it. Heh. Heh.

Right. I dont think I powered down the body before switching lenses that night. Yes, it is only the 3x that has the problem.

Thanks for the info, Rob.
__________________
Matt Irwin
DP / matt.irwincine.com
Matt Irwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2004, 02:02 PM   #161
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 151
Are there any other consequences of removing the lens while the camera is still on? What about with the 14x manual?

I'm not asking so that I can do it. I'm just curious.

Thanks.
Joel Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2004, 04:35 AM   #162
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Joel: yes, it is the same for removing or attaching. This is especially
true if you have a lens with those little electronic pins (not sure
if the 14x has this). But it would be wise to ALWAYS power down
the camera so as to make sure you are not damaging the camera
or the lens!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2004, 07:18 AM   #163
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NYC, NY
Posts: 151
Okay, I'll make sure not to ever do that.

It is alright to turn the camera on, without the lens attached though, right? I mean, with the black dust cap on the camera, without a lens, just to check menus, etc, and without the intention of attaching the lens while it is on. ???
Joel Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2004, 08:41 AM   #164
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Boston
Posts: 75
This sounds like a huge design flaw.
Cliff Hepburn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2004, 09:26 AM   #165
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Cliff: that might be, but with what other removable lens camera's
are you going to change a lens with the camera on? I wouldn't
do it with any, that's just asking for trouble.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network