Some questions about the XL-1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 12th, 2001, 10:05 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Frankfurt Germany
Posts: 104
Some questions about the XL-1

I have some questions about the XL-1 and i hope to get some answers.

1. With the new XL-1s it is possible to shoot in black and white. Is it possible to shoot b/w with the XL-1 ? Or is the image quality the same when i shoot color and change the color of the image to b/w with Premiere or whatever (does it makes a difference if i use a color filter [for b/w] if the image is shot in color and then changed to b/w in Premiere ?)

2. Frame Mode. I transfer DV material (shot in frame mode) from my tape to harddisk. Does it makes a difference what kind of card (DV300/500/Canopus...) or what kind of software (Premiere...) i use ? Or is the uncompressed DV material automatically transfered in frame mode, no matter what kind of hard or software ?

3. And the last one that has something to do with question 2:
After i cut the material, i suppose it remains in frame mode and it is possible to transfer it back to DV tape ?
Elmar Tewes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2001, 08:22 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Howdy from Texas,


<< 1. Is it possible to shoot b/w with the XL-1 ? >>


No. See the XL1 FAQ on the Watchdog.


<< Or is the image quality the same when i shoot color and change the color of the image to b/w with Premiere >>


The same.


<< 2. Frame Mode. I transfer DV material (shot in frame mode) from my tape to harddisk. Does it makes a difference what kind of card (DV300/500/Canopus...) or what kind of software (Premiere...) i use ? >>


Makes no difference... remember, when it's recorded to tape, Frame Movie video is interlaced just like regular video. Your editing setup can't tell the difference.


<< Or is the uncompressed DV material automatically transfered in frame mode, no matter what kind of hard or software ? >>


DV actually *is* compressed, at a 5:1 ratio. Frame Movie mode is automatically changed to interlace (trhat is, normal video) when it's recorded in the camera.


<< 3. After i cut the material, i suppose it remains in frame mode and it is possible to transfer it back to DV tape ?>>


Trick question! Because there's no difference between frame mode and normal mode when it came out of the camera in the first place. By the time Frame Movie mode comes out of the Digital Signal Processor inside the camera and is recorded to tape, it's a *look* more than anything else. And that's the whole idea. Otherwise it's exactly like normal, interlaced video. To answer your question, after you cut the material, it should still have that Frame Movie mode *look.* Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2001, 08:41 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Frankfurt Germany
Posts: 104
Yeah, i think that helps. Thanks !!
Elmar Tewes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2001, 06:08 PM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Another way to look at it is that frame mode is displayed in an interlaced video as is all standard TV. However, the image in the two fields of the frame were captured at the same instant rajhter than being 1/60 (or 1/50 for pal) apart in time. Thus there is no subject motion between the two fields of a frame. And there will be a larger motion jump between the second field of a frame and the first field of the next frame.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2001, 04:56 AM   #5
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
I heard this is not correct.... As I understand it
the XL1 does field deinterlacing + interpolation...
so basically... there should be a time lag....
But since I don't own the camera yet I'm not
100% sure bout all of this :) ....

Regards,
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2001, 06:04 AM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Not deinterlacing and interpolation in the same sense as used by other programs.

All information for both fields is captured at the same instant. It goes something like this. Green from the even lines, Red and Blue from the odd lines is read from the CCDs at the same exposure instant. Then DSP interpolation is used to supply the missing samples for the odd and even lines (which accounts for the slight vertical resolution reduction in frame mode). This provides the two fields for the frame, and is based in part on pixle samples appropriate to each field. Although the interlace display has the fields 1/60 (NTSC) apart in time, the image in each field was formed from the same exposure, so there is no motion jitter caused by interlace.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2001, 01:43 PM   #7
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Thanks for your answer! you seem very knowledgable on this!
I have to read it a couple of times to form the pictures in my
head! Thanks!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2001, 02:15 PM   #8
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
most noteably, the "jaggies" on the edge of semi-horizontal field lines are minimized since there is no horizontal displacement of even and odd field lines. As I discovered, however, there are still filed lines visible during blowups.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2001, 08:42 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 343
B/W with XL1S

<<1. With the new XL-1s it is possible to shoot in black and white. Is it possible to shoot b/w with the XL-1 ? >>

On the "S" model, save a Custom Preset with the Color Gain turned all the way down, and you have black and white. Switch modes on-the-fly by turning the preset on or off. I think Chris has answered the b/w question for the XL1.
Ed Frazier is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:47 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network