FU-1000 NTSC work on my PAL XL1? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2004, 05:56 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19
FU-1000 NTSC work on my PAL XL1?

Hi Folks,

My girlfriend just came back from the states and she bought me a FU-1000 NTSC. It just dawn on me that its an NTSC model. My camera is a PAL model. BUMMER!! Right now my camera is out on location for the week end and the suspense is killing me.
__________________
XL-1 the original, w/ ma200 & ME66
Edit on a Mac with FCP
David Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2004, 09:20 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Hmm, first I have to say that I REALLY don't know anything about these cams, exept what I read here from time to time, so don't believe what I say, I'm only guessing... but I read that the lens of a PAL or NTSC system will also work on a cam from the other format so why wouldn't the FU-1000?
Isn't it only the cam itself and the tape that's different?

But I really have to remind you that my knowledge of the FU-1000 is zero, so it's only a guess.

I hope it works for you, though.
bye
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2004, 05:28 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19
with DV tapes it doesnt matter. You just buy Mini Dv tapes, no matter which country you are in. Lens I am sure they work.

The thing about the FU-1000 finder is that its NTSC. where I am here in the Uk with a PAL XL-1. PAL runs a 25fps displaying 720x576 lines. NTSC is I think from the top of my head is 30fps displaying at 680x480, I made those NTSC numbers up.

So the finder displaying the image is quite important. lenses and cassettes are all the same until data is record on the tapes, then it will become NTSc or PAL. well I assume that you can over record with different formats? I only ever use a tape once since they are so cheap and my XL-1 is quite expensive to replace.

So anyone using a FU-1000 finder NTSC on a PAL camera ot vice versa? Please let me know it works. Damn should of looked into this. But Looking around on info about the FU-1000 the documents seem to suggest that its the same, there are no reference to either NTSC or PAL formats.
__________________
XL-1 the original, w/ ma200 & ME66
Edit on a Mac with FCP
David Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2004, 05:38 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,195
Yes, could be about the tapes, didn't know that though. Thanks for the information. I hope it works out fine with the FU-1000.
bye
Mathieu Ghekiere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2004, 07:28 PM   #5
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
David,
We recently had someone try to use an NTSC FU-1000 on a PAL camera with bad results. He reported that it kinda worked for a while and then...poof. So I don't think it's a good idea to try it.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 04:25 AM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19
Thanks Ken for your reply.

I just got an email from Zotz digital, they say that "Greetings David; alas, of. the camera and viewfinder are format specific.

I don't have access to the PAL gear, they aren't sold in the US by
Canon.


luckily, these are the only things that are format specific.

Thanks brian"

Brian didnt mention anything going poof. God I am so tempted to put the finder on. the FU-1000 is so much nicely made than the standard finder. Well we`ll see my camera is coming back today. i will let you guys know if I decide to put it on or not or I am gonna put it on ebay.

Thansk Ken, the reason I bought the FU-1000 was after reading your article about it. Thanks good aticle too.
__________________
XL-1 the original, w/ ma200 & ME66
Edit on a Mac with FCP
David Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 07:22 AM   #7
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
My advice is to call the Canon office for their guidance before you do this!
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 07:30 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19
OK finally got my camera and my finder to mate. Its worked without going poof!!! But as I suspected its out of sync. Searching the web for info, I have heard that you can modify the FU-1000 from NTSC to PAL. Anyone know how? Well Also as I suspected canon and any other Help desk are rubbish in terms of support. They told me that there is only "1" FU-1000 and it should work fine. well it didnt and no knows how to modify the thing, guess its going back to B&H or on Ebay unless I can figure out a way to mod it.
__________________
XL-1 the original, w/ ma200 & ME66
Edit on a Mac with FCP
David Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 09:36 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Frankfurt Germany
Posts: 104
ok, here my report from myself:

i have a "ntcs" labled version and own a pal xl-1. it works. i don't even think the monitor is ntsc or pal, i think its multisync and just tuned pal or ntsc.
always remember: never pull out a cable while the camera is on, or put cables in while it is on, it will burn the fuse!
the modification. inside the big part of the viewfinder, the metal part you will find 5 small i think... white (?) round, screw like parts, the potentiometers.
you need to do it while the camera is on and the viewfinder is attached correctly. i dont think they are named so there you need to try what is what. you need to turn HSYNC, VSYNC, HPOS, VPOS to sync it with pal. use a very small, the best would be a non metal screwdriver (i used a metal cause i havn't had a non metal) and turn the screws a little bit in this or that direction and watch what the picture is doing. make the same on all screws until the picture is fine enough. turn the camera off, wait a minute so there is no energy anymore and turn it on again. it could be that it needs a few seconds to syncronise (i dont know what this is coming from) but the picture runs down and then stops, i think its because how good you adjusted the potentiometers. my needs a few seconds to sync but i don#t wanna open it again for that now.
well, thats what i did and it worked. but do it on your own risk when you think youre able to do it. otherwise better send it back before you damage more
Elmar Tewes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 10:04 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19
Hi I decided to go for it, I am having trouble getting the mount off. the part that connects the body to the finder.
__________________
XL-1 the original, w/ ma200 & ME66
Edit on a Mac with FCP
David Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 10:07 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Frankfurt Germany
Posts: 104
yes the screws to open it are very tight ! we had to use a spray so it works better, it was the hardest part of the thing
Elmar Tewes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 10:37 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 19
VERY Happy!!

THANKS ELMAR,

Figure it out one happy bunny. THANKS A BUNCH!!
__________________
XL-1 the original, w/ ma200 & ME66
Edit on a Mac with FCP
David Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 8th, 2004, 10:44 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Frankfurt Germany
Posts: 104
cool :-)
Elmar Tewes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2007, 03:51 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 12
I've found this topic because I had the same problem: FU-1000 NTSC on PAL XL1S. And I have to say: Thank you, Elmar. It works with no problem!
Jan Mitacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30th, 2007, 08:54 AM   #15
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 5
Hi,

I have used a NTSC FU-1000 for years on my PAL XL1S. I had to do this conversion myself similar to above fiddling with the potentiometers to retune it to PAL frequencies. It has worked fine ever since.

p.s. did you not notice underneath the 4 red leds at front is a sticker that specifically says "NTSC" on it :-)

Gaven
Gaven Eogan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network