Bad experience with xl1s?!!!! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 11th, 2004, 10:28 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BRUNEI
Posts: 108
Bad experience with xl1s?!!!!

Bad experience with xl1s?!!!!

Recently I used xl1s film some event, during halfway filming, message appear *Head dirty, Need cleaning*so I eject tape and clean the head, but when I rewind back the tape, all the previous capture footage gone?, I was very frustrated, the time code seen not running accordingly…during rewind and playback, Had anyone experience this problem before?

mysetup: xl1s, ma200 and sony minidv tape
__________________
Andrew
Andrew Kiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2004, 11:45 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: ontario
Posts: 445
Did you switch tape manufacturers?I believe going from dry lube tape like Panasonic to wet lube like Sony can in fact cause some problems.Stick to 1 manufaturer. As far as your lost footage,you could try the tape in another player.
smitty
Jack Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2004, 11:33 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BRUNEI
Posts: 108
THANKS Jack,

no. all the time i used sony MINIDV TAPE !, since i bought XL1s, all the time stick to Sony.
__________________
Andrew
Andrew Kiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2004, 10:33 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
All camera's can get glogged heads, even with just one tape
brand (it will just happen a lot faster if you switch brands), that's
why these cleaning tapes exist. This is just the nature of these
tape system unfortunately. In you want to make sure you don't
get this start recording to a harddiks with a direct-to-disk recording
device like the firestore.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2004, 11:32 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: BRUNEI
Posts: 108
Rob, Thank for your advice,

Currently, My budget was very limited, and somtime harddisk will not give you 100% Reliability as some bad cluster will happen...

by the way, Will it solve the problem if using the head cleaner?
__________________
Andrew
Andrew Kiu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 16th, 2004, 04:29 AM   #6
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Yes, it should solve your problem. If not then the heads probably
need replacing and you need to send it in to Canon.

Just as a side note: with a direct to harddisk recorder you can STILL
ALSO record to tape, so you automatically have a backup if the
harddisk would fail (not quite likely in the timespan you will be
using it).
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2004, 01:29 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 23
Wow! Thanks for the insight. I was about to abandon Canon alltogether. I had the exact same problem; loss of timecode, blank recordings that I knew had something on them, horizontal bars across my recording, constant "remove the tape" messages ect ect.

I was pulling my hair out until I read this. I then realized that my problems did not begin until I swithched tape brands (from sony to maxell).

Since then I have put four different brands through my poor XL1S swapping back and forth constantly. It must hate me. I haven't had a chance to check it out but my plan is to clean the heads thouroughly and then go back to Sony and only Sony media.

I knew you werent supposed switch brands but alas like a child when told not to do something just because his parents said so I did not heed the warning. I paid the price: a half day of shooing gone.

That is a gripe I have with manuals; they tell you not to do something but rarely tell you why. Case in point; the XL1S manual directs you to turn off the image stableizer when shooting on a tripod but it doesn't tell you why. Not knowing why I ignored this. Now that I know why (the stablizer will try to compensate for tilt or panning movements on the tripod, possibly spoiling the shot, for those who didnt know, I didn't!) I turn it off when im on sticks.

If I ever have children (god forbid!) I well never tell them "because I said so" as a reason why. So manual publishers and posters please tell us stubborn people why or why not to do or dont do!! :) Thanks
__________________
Doc
Wayne Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2004, 04:00 AM   #8
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Good luck with that Wayne and welcome aboard DVInfo.net!

Follow the cleaning's tape instructions perfectly, too much isn't
good either. But switching tape can definitely glog your heads
fast!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2004, 07:56 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: springfield, OH
Posts: 344
I've actually heard of people having problems after having only used Sony tapes, but I've never heard of anyone having problems with Panasonic tapes. I wouldn't use the Sonys.
__________________
Tony

"Good taste is the enemy of creativity" - Picasso

Blog: http://www.tonyhall.name
Tony Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2004, 01:17 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 23
Hey thanks guys. I guess the probelm with the Sony tabes would be caused by the liquid lubrication system mentioned above? Anyone have any experience with TDK?
__________________
Doc
Wayne Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2004, 06:54 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: california
Posts: 342
<<<-- Originally posted by Wayne Maxwell : Hey thanks guys. I guess the probelm with the Sony tabes would be caused by the liquid lubrication system mentioned above? Anyone have any experience with TDK? -->>>

hello wayne,

been using tdk tapes for about 4 years for my sony, now the xl1s, and for my vcr. no problems.

greetings
Karl Heiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2004, 02:28 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 23
Hey Karl thanks for the info. Anyone know how to tell which tabes use dry lubrication and which , like Soney, use wet?
__________________
Doc
Wayne Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2004, 06:19 AM   #13
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Do a search on dry and wet lubs, it has been discussed a lot
already on this board.

I've only used Sony color collection tapes in my XL1S and never
had a problem. Just stick with the brand that works for you!
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2004, 04:22 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: TO, On
Posts: 18
<<<-- Originally posted by Wayne Maxwell : Wow! Thanks for the insight. I was about to abandon Canon alltogether. I had the exact same problem; loss of timecode, blank recordings that I knew had something on them, horizontal bars across my recording, constant "remove the tape" messages ect ect.


I've been having this problem just recently. I'm using the old XL1 with primarily JVC tapes. I get loss of picture/timecode and the horizontal bars of past footage gone bad. Will a head cleaner/new heads solve this?

I was just out on a shoot this morning and captured almost 2 hours of flawless footage, i got back and checked it all out, everything was fine. Then a few hours later I put in another tape to do some 16:9 recording tests and the footage was a complete mess and totally useless then i went through some other tapes that i had shot and knew worked perfect and they gave me the same problem - blank/horizontal bars, etc.

I'm pretty worried about this because I use my camera constantly for business and I have another important shoot coming up soon. any input is appreciated...
__________________
Cathode Rays Daze
John Hampster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2004, 05:32 AM   #15
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
Has your camera been serviced? If you use (much) the camera
for business it should be checked and serviced by Canon yearly
(is our advice) to make sure everything is in working order.

Why haven't you tried a cleaning tape yet? They exist for a reason
and if you run a business you should have one. So yes, get one
and run it through the camera (follow the cleaning tape's
instructions carefully). It will probably solve your problem, but if
not it will need to be send in to Canon for a service or possible
head assembly replacement.

Do you mix tape brands/types?
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network