4 xlr from an xl1 ..help? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 4th, 2001, 03:08 PM   #1
Skyonic New York
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 614
4 xlr from an xl1 ..help?

i have been receiving dv tapes from event videographers for the first time this year... if they used an m100 i would run the dv off gv-d900 into my firewire card and then separate the channels in soundforge, usually a wireless mic on one channel and a boom, or shotgun on another, then import into premiere look for my markers and edit...well no problem..
i got a call from someone who said he had 4 channels on one dv tape, each one balanced, what do i do now, do i need to get an xls and use xlr inputs to get the balanced audio, or can i get the audio from the dv tape... if i can get the 4 channels, how do they come in, two audio streams, with balanced channels of audio?...does anyone know?

is there a better way to seperate the audio streams in premiere? soundforge was the only way i could figure it out...
Robert Mann Z. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2001, 11:52 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Depends on your editing system, for instance with my Canopus DV Rex RT, I can easily capture four channels of audio (12 bit 32 khz audio) in one pass... you don't have to buy an XL1S, just a editor capable of capturing four channels.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2001, 02:48 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 82
Correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think the XL1s has balanced audio.
__________________
Amacitia Reddit Honores
(Friendship Brings Honour)
Guy Pringle

Silver Reflections
guypringle@yahoo.com
+27(0)83 256 8566
Guy Pringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2001, 04:29 AM   #4
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
thats correct... The XL1 and the S don't have balanced
audio inputs.. you can get it though with an optional
XLR adaptor!

Good luck
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2001, 08:08 AM   #5
Skyonic New York
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 614
Chris

i use premiere, so you are saying that rex edit uses 4 streams , do they come in balanced, or as two stero streams?

does anyone else use premiere and this new adpater for the xl1s?

thanks for the feedback...
Robert Mann Z. is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network