still pictures on XL 1 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2001, 05:24 AM   #1
Pablo Diaz
 
Posts: n/a
still pictures on XL 1

In what resolution does XL1 record its still images when you use it in photo mode??
And how do you get it into the computer with a higher resolution than pal or ntsc??
  Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2001, 05:27 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
As I understand it, the XL1 records pictures at 640x480...
It is not intended for high resolution photography... Get
yourself another (canon) camera then :)
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2001, 06:02 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,291
The XL1 photo mode just repeats the same frame for about 6 seconds, with sound. It will have normal DV video resolution; nominally a 720x480 pixel image.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2001, 02:53 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 290
The XL1 photo mode baffles me. Why is it there? If you shoot in frame mode, you can just extract a single frame of your choice from the file that you send from your camera to the computer over firewire. That's what I always do, but if you really want good pictures you'll get a separate digital camera.
Joe Redifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2001, 05:49 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Tickfaw, LA
Posts: 1,217
Its because its NTSC or PAL.

This argument comes up every once in a while (or is awhile?). With NTSC (or PAL) there is a loss of resolution merely because of the format. The format is for imaging motion with sound.

A digital still cam is not so encumbered. It can produce as many lines as it wants since it is not NTSC.

Nathan Gifford
Nathan Gifford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2001, 04:13 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,291
Why photo mode? Handy for cut-a-ways, you get 6 seconds of still without having to spend time rendering! I use it often for that purpose. For the vacation shooter you can get 6 seconds of the historical marker wihtout shake while you do voice over, and so on.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2001, 11:45 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
It also makes it much easier for cataloging shots. I use it at the start of every shot as a form of "clapper" Using Photo Search on the IR Remote you can search for the shot you want, with out filling your HDD with usless shots.

This is especially useful for me as when shooting surfing and snowboarding the subject or rider does not always stay on their board so I might have 5 takes of the same jump before getting the on I want and don't always have time to review back to the begining of the shot.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2002, 09:34 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ashburn, VA
Posts: 42
Here's something I've tried with my XL1 to get larger, higher resolution stills. You could shoot in interlaced mode if it is a still subject. Though I've done it in frame movie mode. What you do is shoot several stills of your subject, but you pan around to include different parts of the picture. Then, in your editor (I use FCP) you make still frames from the different clips. Import them into Photoshop and paste them together to make one big picture. You may need to make a few adjustments so each still (which should have some overlap) seamlessly lines up with the others. The results can be astonishing! You can make still pictures of any size, depending only on the amount of ram in your computer. Of course, you could get a similar effect if you used a multi megapixel digital camera, but they can cost several thousand dollars. Since digital tape is so inexpensive (compared to film), you can do all kinds of creative experiments that would be prohibitively expensive with film. The XL1 and 1S work well for this, since the basic image they produce is a good one. You can then enhance the stills with Genuine Fractals, sharpening and uprezzing them. Amazing.
__________________
Don Williamson
Don Williamson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2002, 08:20 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
I've done what you are describing. It works great. See attached site:
http://www.geocities.com/ravens202/pano1.jpg
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2002, 09:52 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pembroke Pines, Florida
Posts: 1,418
Flash- worth it- or pass?

is it worth buying a Canon Speedlite flash (sorta pricey) -does the image quality increase because of the burst of additional light given off by the flash- or is the money better spent buying a consumer grade digital camera?

Opinions?????
__________________
Steve Nunez-New York City
www.stevenunez.com
Steve Nunez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2002, 12:43 PM   #11
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, TX USA
Posts: 2,882
"Clapper" Function

Great idea, Adrian! Hadn't thought of of using "photos" at the beginning of a shot for quick searching.

I'll definitely be doing that from here on out.

Thanks!
__________________
John Locke
SursumFilms.com
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2002, 06:19 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 86
Hmm interesting.

afterburnerDV,
I've often try to shoot, and like pushing the return button on aBroadcast camera, I have a bad habit of pushing the photo button. It pissed the heck out of me when I needed to shot fast.
But using it as a index search!! Wolla! I'll be using the photo button more once again.

Don, I also like the panaorama photo Idea. nice. I will give it a try.
Takeshi
Takeshi Fukushima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2002, 09:46 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 103
I use the speedlite 380EX with my XL1. It comes in handy when doing weddings. What I do is I take stills along with the photographer to use in the video. I have a small (small file size, maybe I'll update it with a larger one for us dsl/cable users with better quality) example on my site in the wedding section on the left "Ending Credits" shows some stills in the ending credits.
It's allso good for index search as others have posted.

I like the speedlite flash. It appears to increase the quality. Especially the bounce lighting the back. It's probably just better light than normal thus looks better.
Michael Dontigney is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network