86ing dv tapes... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 18th, 2002, 03:16 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 20
86ing dv tapes...

yo yo and yo, so what if i want to bring my g4 imac with me to shoots and instead of recording the image on dv tape, i just firewire the camera into my computer and capture it that way? i'll also be recording onto tape as a backup, i was just wondering if besides it looking cool to onlookers, would i be helping the image of the camera since i'm pulling straight off the ccd's. or am i wrong, is there a difference between recording to tape and recording directly to a harddrive?
bokkus37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 03:26 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 111
Urm... what's up with the yo...

Anyway, no, it won't help, since the firewire-output is already compressed. With the XL-1 there's no getting the images straight off the CCD's, even the s-video output went through the compressor I think. Some DV cameras with a 25 pin connector (JVC GY-DV550), can use that studio-connector to send uncompressed video out.

So basically you be dragging along an extra box, and you'd need someone extra to operate it...

Bar3nd
__________________
www.raamw3rk.net
digital storytelling and vfx
Barend Onneweer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 04:01 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 20
thanks...

yo yo,

thanks for the input about the output.

yo yo,
-p
bokkus37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 05:42 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
As to benefits, what you mght save/avoid is any dropouts on the tape that you are using.

However, in addition to lugging more weight, you may be providing additional keys someone could accidently press and cause the camcorder to change operating mode; e.g., pause recording.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 06:44 AM   #5
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
I've recorded directly to hard drive on several occasions. The main benefit to me was being able to edit the project as we shot. It also saved the time it takes to capture the clips in the studio. It required a few changes in the order the scenes were shot. The editor wanted a couple of scenes shot early, so he'd have more time to work on graphics. We also made a tape backup incase the HD developed a problem.

The project was shot and edited in record time and within the clients imposed deadline. I think the total time was about 16 hours of work. We started about 8am and delivered the finished piece (including a DVD with menus) the next day at noon.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 07:06 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 607
Jeff,

Did you use the Firestore device for the direct DV storage? If not what did you use?
__________________
Paul Sedillo
Image::Studio
http://www.image-studio.com
Houston, Texas
Paul Sedillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 08:23 AM   #7
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
No, we used an Avid. They have a Capture Now function that records whatever you feed it. I hope FCP adds a similar function.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 08:28 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 607
Hmmm...I thought that FCP has the ability to "Capture Now" while in the program. Never tried the function, so I could be WAY off base.

The Firestore is a great device. I like the ability to capture video direct to a firewire drive. It makes life so much better.
__________________
Paul Sedillo
Image::Studio
http://www.image-studio.com
Houston, Texas
Paul Sedillo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2002, 08:50 AM   #9
Warden
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Clearwater, FL
Posts: 8,267
Your right. It does have capture now also. You have to set it to non-device control so it doesn't wait for TC. We used an Avid because the client wanted Betacam SP. I didn't edit that project, I was DP. Avids are easier to find (rent) that accept analog.

Jeff
Jeff Donald is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network