Recording from XL1S to VHS deck at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 5th, 2006, 11:37 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, alabama
Posts: 2
Recording from XL1S to VHS deck

First: Is it possible to hook up the XL1S to a VCR and record live footage through the camera onto a VHS tape?

Second: Do we keep the mini DV tape out of the camera while doing this?

Third: Can you provide me with instructions on how to do this, assuming that it is possible, and tell me what cables I need?

Thanks a bunch

-Ron
Ronald Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2006, 12:48 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Jupiter, FL
Posts: 565
Rca Connections Out Of The Camera To The Rca In's On The Vcr.
Use The Camera Remote To Turn Off The Display Otherwise It Will Show Up On Your Tape. Then Just Hit Play/record On The Vcr. Also keep the tape out of the camera.
Mark
Mark Bournes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2006, 05:12 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
Also, the camcorder has to be in one of the camcorder modes, not VCR mode. (Exception - if transferring video from a previously recorded MiniDV tape.) If you have a MiniDV tape in the camera in pause mode, it will go into standby mode after a few minutes. This is to prevernt undue wear on the tape and heads. Not an issue if you are recording to MiniDV tape as well. The alternative, as Ron notes above, is to not insert a tape.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 11:36 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Palomaki
The alternative, as Ron notes above, is to not insert a tape.
Won't the "No Tape" flashing symbol show up on the Video out signal (similar to having the display turned on)?
Ken Grohs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 08:10 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,294
No. Pressing the On-screen button on the remote toggles the information overlay (including the flashing no-tape icon) on and off.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 02:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: california
Posts: 342
hello ken,

there will be also no tally light function. when i started out, i had a 13" tv/ vcr combo. the only downside was, i needed a 110 volt outlet all the times.

greetings
Karl Heiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 09:45 AM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, alabama
Posts: 2
Thanks for the information guys.

-Ron
Ronald Bryan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network