Has anyone tried using the supplied cannon mic with extention cables (1/8 stereo and at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 19th, 2002, 02:00 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: ft laud fl
Posts: 10
Has anyone tried using the supplied cannon mic with extention cables (1/8 stereo and

Has anyone tried using the supplied cannon mic with extention cables (1/8 stereo and power) into Audio1 for a BOOM mic?
__________________
Thornburg Cinema is brought to you buy vOCesUGa . . . makers of 35-70 mm projectors.

email reply too

thornburgav@hotmail.com
blake edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2002, 08:24 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
Be aware that it is an unbalanced system, so long leads can pickup noise. Also you have to provide both the mic and power leads.

It can be done. I've done it with the L2, but had no reason to do so with the XL1.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2002, 08:47 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: ft laud fl
Posts: 10
thanks for reply

im having trouble getting my audio 2 to the computer via the xl1
__________________
Thornburg Cinema is brought to you buy vOCesUGa . . . makers of 35-70 mm projectors.

email reply too

thornburgav@hotmail.com
blake edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2002, 09:08 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
If the question is about trying to transfer AUDIO 2 (12-bit, 4 channel mode) sound to a PC via firewire, be aware that your capture card's DRIVERS must support 4-channel capture. Many do not, in which case you may have to capture AUDIO 2 in a second pass, possibly using your audio card.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2002, 11:24 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: ft laud fl
Posts: 10
thanks for the post

i would be happy just getting the audio 2 captured. this isnt happening. i have tried all the suggestions on here and read the manual for the xl1

it will not capture the second audio in vegas video

i have the ati dv wonder card BTW
__________________
Thornburg Cinema is brought to you buy vOCesUGa . . . makers of 35-70 mm projectors.

email reply too

thornburgav@hotmail.com
blake edwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2002, 01:44 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,298
My informants tell me that Vegas Video 3 does NOT support capture of 4-track audio from a camcorder/DV player via firewire. (Have you checked the VV3 manual, I did not see it mentioned in the on-line manual?) And that is not the XL1's fault - blame the VV3 developers.

You may have to capture the AUDIO 2 tracks via analog playback from the XL1's AUDIO 2 output jacks.

Last edited by Don Palomaki; January 20th, 2002 at 07:07 PM.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network