Wireless Input Help at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 27th, 2003, 05:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 45
Wireless Input Help

I'm trying to record 2 sets of audio. Audio 1 is coming in through the on-board standard XL1 microphone. Audio 2 is coming in through RCA cables (though the mic is not stereo) from the 2nd input location on the camera handle. I've set the menu to 12 bit ST 1,2 and on Audio 2 the Mic ATT20 is selected. When I test the audio, and switch between the 2 on the audio monitor, it looks like I am getting 2 different audio inputs - BUT when I play back the tape (either on the TV or after capturing from AVID) the wireless mic on Audio 2 is not there any more. I have tested the wireless mic by itself on audio 1 (without the on board) and things were fine. Please help me resolve this situation. I want to record audio from the on-board and from the wireless (and neither specifically have to be stereo) at the same time, thats all. Any info would be appreciated. Or if there is a thread somehwhere, just point me in the right directions.

Thanks a ton!

Annie
Annie Cheatham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2003, 10:18 PM   #2
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Welcome Annie

I think I can at least head you in the right direction, although I'll have to leave some of the details to Avid users.

Basically, you're actually recording 4 channels. Your onboard mic, which is stereo, consumes two of those channels. Those are the only two channels that you seem to be capturing with your Avid or playing back during a preview. Your wireless mic (which I assume to be mono) is being recorded on the 3rd channel and the 4th channel is blank.

So to grab your wireless mic's sound you'll have to navigate your Avid to capture those extra channels.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2003, 12:44 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 45
But shouldn't I?

But shouldn't I be able to hear those 3rd and 4th channels on a play back, when i hook the camera directly up to the television or something?

On a slightly different note, can i record mono sound off of the on board mic and mono off of the wireless and capture it on the first two audio channels?

Thanks for the reply!

Annie
Annie Cheatham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2003, 01:07 AM   #4
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Re: But shouldn't I?

But shouldn't I be able to hear those 3rd and 4th channels on a play back, when i hook the camera directly up to the television or something?
Short answer: See page 96 of the (English) XL1S manual. You'll have to change the sound mix settings.

On a slightly different note, can i record mono sound off of the on board mic and mono off of the wireless and capture it on the first two audio channels?
No, not to my knowledge. The mic is strictly stereo and when you tell the camera that the onboard mic is to be used it will automatically reserve the first 2 channels for it. If you want an onboard mono mic you'll need to use another mic.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2003, 05:44 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,292
To record the onboard mic in mono on one channel and an external mic on the other channel would require a rather special "Y" adapter that also powers the mic. I do not know of any commercial product that does this.
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network