Genlock a xL1s and a GL2 cameras at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog
Can't find it on the XL1 Watchdog site? Discuss it here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2007, 11:35 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 177
Genlock a xL1s and a GL2 cameras

I do own a xL1s, a GL2 and a Videonics mixer (2 DV input and one DV output).

This is the first time that I hear about genlock and TC, and I would like to know how and if possible to genlock those two cameras.

I want to cut doing offline video editing and this is the reason why I am planning to use the mixer.

One camera will be connected to the mixer via a 40 meter DV (6 pin to pin) cable with a repeater in between. The other camera will be connected to the same mixer via a 20 meter DV cable. If I read other tread correctly, it is imperative that I have cable that are the same length. Am I correct ?

What will I need to ensure the video signal is always synchronised when going to the mixer ?

Regards !

Daniel
Daniel Paquin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 12:05 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
It is not possible to GenLock these cameras as they have no GenLock input.

I don't think you'll run into any sync issues over FireWire cables of different lengths with that mixer. Since you already have the cameras and the mixer on hand, I suggest that you thoroughly test the set-up first. Please report what you find.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 12:56 AM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 6
Genlocking Canon Xl1'a

I too have a genlock question for Canon XL1 camera. I plan on doing local sports shooting and planned on using Multiple Canon XL1's. Luckily, I also read they don't come with Genlock before I brought the cameras. Is there anyway to genlock multiple Xl1'a or can you recommend cameras that do?
__________________
Samuel A. Small, Sr.
Samuel Small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 3rd, 2007, 08:44 AM   #4
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,299
Considering that the XL1 and XL1s are discontinued models, sounds like you are doing this on a modest budget.

Depending on what you are doing and your editing and distribution plans (e.g., live signal, mix to tape, or tape to be edited later) it may not be necessary to have genlock.

Can you give a bit more information on what you are doing, your current equipment, and maybe folks here can give some additional ideas.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 12:05 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Palomaki View Post
Considering that the XL1 and XL1s are discontinued models, sounds like you are doing this on a modest budget.

Depending on what you are doing and your editing and distribution plans (e.g., live signal, mix to tape, or tape to be edited later) it may not be necessary to have genlock.

Can you give a bit more information on what you are doing, your current equipment, and maybe folks here can give some additional ideas.
Sure, I am looking to purchase equipment on a modest budget, so at present I don't have any. I plan on shooting local sporting events and comedy shows with the thought of doing all three that you mentioned. All of the cameras on the market now pretty much exceed what I'm looking for. I already knew that the XL1 series was discontinued, but I figured that can get three of those in decent condition for the cost of 1 camera. Plus, just starting out I would need to get familiar with the craft with an inventory of equipment where if I stop, I won't lose much. That being said, ANY information that you or ANYBODY else would be wonderful and will be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Samuel A. Small, Sr.
Samuel Small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 01:20 PM   #6
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,299
You really do not need genlock if you have a mixer such as the Videonics (even for live mixes), or if you plan to edit later using a NLE. The MX series mixers include timebase correction and a frame synchronizer to correct for any differences in sources.

Having synchronized time code on all sources can make editing easier, especially if doing linear editing (but not many folks do that these days from what I see).
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 10:57 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Palomaki View Post
You really do not need genlock if you have a mixer such as the Videonics (even for live mixes), or if you plan to edit later using a NLE. The MX series mixers include timebase correction and a frame synchronizer to correct for any differences in sources.

Having synchronized time code on all sources can make editing easier, especially if doing linear editing (but not many folks do that these days from what I see).
Hey Don, I truly appreciated this bit of advice. I just want to reiterate something. I did research on the Videotronics mixers and a company called Focus (Looks like Videotronics) MX series. So what you are saying is as long as i have one of these mixers with timebase correction, I can use the Canon XL1 camera with no problems?
__________________
Samuel A. Small, Sr.
Samuel Small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 4th, 2007, 10:59 PM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 6
Oops, I read further it is the same company.
__________________
Samuel A. Small, Sr.
Samuel Small is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 07:46 AM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,299
Yes, the Videonics line was merged into Focus several years ago, and yes should be no problem using their mixer with the XL1 series. I suspect many other mixers would work the same, but only have used the MX series. I have an MX-1 I no longer use, and an MX-Pro I use occasionally, mainly for the TBC feature at this point.
__________________
dpalomaki@dspalomaki.com
Don Palomaki is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon HDV and DV Camera Systems > Canon XL and GL Series DV Camcorders > Canon XL1S / XL1 Watchdog

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network