Ghosting after converting? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 31st, 2007, 09:52 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 7
Ghosting after converting?

Hello all,

I'm a new hv-20 (pal) user and have heard alot of good things about Cineform.
I use After Effects alot and it's super quick to work with! =)
But I'm having problems when I convert a m2t file to avi via HDlink.
I'm using the trail version of Aspect HD.

So I go to Convert - Select the m2t file that I captured with HDVsplit
Go to Pref - Encoding options are on Medium, Automatic
Rate change is at: No change
Resize video: none

I couldn't attach the zip file because of the file size (5mb) so I uploaded it here:

http://rapidshare.com/files/46138105/hdlink.zip.html

It's footage of my holding the camera and dropping a tennisball on the asphalt and I'm sad to say that it doesn't look good after converting the footage. You can clearly see the artifacts going tru the clip frame by frame.
Is this something you have seen before and have a solution for?


Thanks in advance!
Rob
EDIT: Oh yeah, the mt2 footage is in 50i. I have also tried exporting to 720p but I'm noticing the same problems. I also wanna add that it works fine on footage where the movment isn't as fast.
Rob Rollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 10:24 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
You are seeing interlacing. Please explain in what manner you pulled the frames out of the video.

My guess is that the M2T file is being deinterlaced and the AVI is not.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 10:56 AM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You are only showing half res images. CineForm defaults to field blend for a half res display. Decoding to full resolution separates the fields. The M2T defaults to decoding only one field in half res. So the two half res decodes will look different, but you should only be using half res for previews.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2007, 01:35 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 7
Hey guys thanks for the quick response!

I imported the avi and the m2t and pulled those frames from Vegas.
Yes they are only half res because the preview in Vegas is set to that.

So what I did now was exporting two full res frames and imported them into photoshop for deinterlacing and they look identical which made me happy!!
I have no idea of the difference in decoding, so thanks for clearing that up I was getting a little worried for a while there. :-D

Cheers!
Rob
Rob Rollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 01:05 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Reopening this thread as I have an issue on quite similar lines.

I have been provided an M2T file (which Windows media Player seems to think is 1440x1088 in size) and I've been asked to do soem work on it. I'm uncertain as to it's origin (it is an editted movie).

When I pass it through HDLink to convert to AVI some strange things happen.

A) I get this 'ghosting' effect in the resultant AVI as seen and described in this thread.
B) Windows Explorere thinks that the resulting AVI is 1440x1080;
C) Media Player thinks it is 740x540.
D) Premier Pro thinks it is 740x540 but cannot work with at all and treats it as an offline file.

Does anyone have any clues as to what is going on here?

And can someone clarify somethign said above also please. How and why did the clip (discussed in the oroginal post of this thread) get converted to half res when the no resize option was chosen. I ask because I seem tobe seeing similar - depending on which app I use to interrogate the resulting file of course.

What options do I need to use to NOT down size the clip?

Apologies if this is a 'beginner' or RTFM type question. I typically do not work with M2T files, and usually capture straight to AVI.

Thanks

Alan
Alan Mills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 01:09 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sorry, that makes no sense to me, we only down res the data upon request. You need to contact support, file a trouble ticket at www.cineform.com/support
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2007, 01:34 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 67
Thank you David. Ticket raised. M2T file in question sourced externally so I can't know it's history or whether I should 'trust' it - especially as Premier Pro considers it an 'offline' file when imported.
Alan Mills is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network