Long term solution to render crashes? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 14th, 2007, 03:37 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Long term solution to render crashes?

David, the 3.05 build definitely helped keep us from totally crashing out of PP CS3. It also helped us with renders...to a point.

Question: is there any hope for a better long term solution in the days to come?

The reason I ask, is we still have many errors, especially on large stills or any alpha layered material that's too complex or large. Then, the error messages start and we end up having to close PP and reopen to be able to render...if it even will. Sometimes it will not render, even after that. Not enough memory I guess.

So, is there any hope, or is this going to be a long term workaround until PP is finally 64 bit?
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2007, 03:49 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
These faults occur in non-CineForm projects so these are Adobe errors. But we have ideas on how to reduce them further. In the meantime, reduce the size of your stills wherever you can, and make sure you let Adobe know so they fix it soon.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2007, 08:33 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 1,520
If you have large images and a lot of compositing, you may want to consider using After Effects since that is what it was designed to handle.
__________________
Steven Gotz
http://www.stevengotz.com
Steven Gotz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2007, 08:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Actually we use AE quite a bit. Like David said, it's probably more of a prob with PP's mem hogging/handling. Especially when we have fairly large PSDs (anything larger than 2400 pixels usually means an error message or crash) which we're trying to use for panning or zooming in these HD projects, it's been pretty "ifie". We save lots and go out and reload PP jsut to be able to render anything big. A real pain.

Makes us long for a 64bit memory spaces/OS. Even though this series is made up of 35 min productions, we have 47 more to go, so we've got a thousand crashes ahead!

AE does handle many things better than PP for sure, but it's not the answer for regular editing (though I have a AE expert friend that would swear otherwise!). After experimenting, we've been doing all our AE stuff and importing into PP as numbered stills (PSD) as that's the only way we get fairly decent stability.
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network