Image sharpness rendering to Cineform at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2007, 11:22 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Image sharpness rendering to Cineform

After rendering original HDV footage (.m2t from Canon A1) to Cineform in Vegas 7 I see a (very, very slight but still noticable) loss in image sharpness, comparing the original (1,440x1080 .m2t) with the rendered file (1,440x1080 Cineform). If I render from .m2t to .m2t instead (using the Vegas main concept codec) I do NOT detect this minimal loss in sharpness. I'd have expected this to be the other way round. Can anyone confirm this?

(This comparison can be performed in Vegas simply by arranging the original clip frame accurate over the rendered clip and soloing either one of the two tracks.)
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 11:44 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
What quality level are you selecting for your CineForm conversion? If you are using the Vegas license for CineForm it only offers "Medium" which is slightly softening. Within HDLink select High or Filmscan and retest.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 02:27 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
David, thanks for your quick response. As you proposed I retested with Cineform quality level "Filmscan 1" and the softening is gone, indeed. Good to know that. Thanks again!
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 02:47 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Yes, Filmscan 1 mode was developed with a film scanning house (thus its name) to make a quality level that would preserve characteristic of film grain. When in doubt it, is the go to quality level. Yet "Hig"h is also good as that has been used in film out work for features before the Filmscan modes where offered -- High will often save you 20% disk space over Filmscan 1. For the ultra paranoid, there is Filmscan 2, we don't use in in house, we consider it overkill -- a 4:1 version of uncompressed.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2007, 12:23 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 67
I recalled reading an earlier post where it was mentioned (by whom i forgot) that Cineform convert does smooth the video a bit (something to do with the MPEG artifacts?)
Chan Ee Jien is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 6th, 2007, 06:26 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Chan,
I normally use film scan 1 and the image quality is excellent.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 08:19 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 132
I captured all my footage for my feature in "Medium", as I read that "Medium" should be fine, and you'd get no visible degradation of image.

As I haven't captured any of it in "High" (my HDLink doesn't have FilmScan 1 - is this new in Aspect v5?), I don't have anything to compare it to.

Should I recapture the footage I've used? I'll be going out to SD DVD as well as HD DVD and BluRay - probably not blown up to 35mm though.

Does anyone have any experience or opinions on this?

(I'm capturing using HDLink - set to Medium, and editing in PPRO CS3, 1080i 25fps preset)
__________________
Doug Turner
http://therunsmovie.com
Douglas Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 09:42 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 166
douglas I switched from medium to high a while back and there is improvement, so if ur pc and storage space allow I would use at minimal the "high" setting.
Mark Leonard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network