AspectHD 5 and 32-bit compositing at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2007, 10:26 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
AspectHD 5 and 32-bit compositing

I recently purchased AE CS3 (along with all the other CS3 apps in the Master Collection), and I was playing around with the 32-bit compositing in After Effects. I use AspectHD 5 now, and I was hoping to do some linear compositing in AE on some of my Cineform files. There were several things I noted:

#1. The .709 colour profile is not embedded in the Cineform avi files for AE to use, and thus has to be set manually. If it could be added as metadata, this could be a handy little time saver.

#2. My Cineform files would not process correctly under 32-bit float in AE. I assume this is an embedded limitation to AspectHD that is not present in ProspectHD? I found this frustrating, as while workarounds are obvious, they're also painful.

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2007, 10:45 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Sounds like Aspect HD issues, Prospect is the tool for this, although the next version will help AE CS3 for all our products.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 08:22 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 547
Just so you know, I downloaded the latest build of AspectHD (build 90), and all of these issues are gone.

32-bit compositing in AE works fine, and all the importers work as well without having to delete the original AE importers.

Thanks a lot for the fixes!

-Steve
Steven White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 09:49 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Thanks for the feedback, this new build addresses a lot of CS3 issues, so I'm happy it helped here also.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 11:24 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Lafayette, CA
Posts: 42
I just installed today's latest build and selected 10 bit import in the pop-up. I imported some previously captured footage but when I try to switch my project to 16 or 32 bit all I see is a big green screen, I can only see my footage at 8 bit. I quit and ran the AE fixit script in the Tools folder and tried it again but got the same results. Is there something I'm missing?
__________________
Bruce Findleton
Land's End Productions
Pleasanton, CA

http://www.landsendproductions.com
Bruce Findleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 28th, 2007, 11:27 AM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You do not need that 10-bit selector, that is for AE 7.0 not CS3, but it does sound like something didn't install, please contact support for advice.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network