Cineform cause error even after removal at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 8th, 2007, 08:37 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
Cineform cause error even after removal

I installed Cineform on my machine and now when I try to export a file from Quicktime, it crashes.

Open file
Export (Chose QT Movie)
Click settings to chose codec and bam -crash!
Somtimes I get buffer over run error or it just crashes and disapperars.

When trying to work in After Effects 7, if I chose to not use the Cineform loader, then it is more stable. I unistalled it, but teh errors are still there. I update QT and the errors are still there.

I am running XP64bit and all my software is update including cinefrom.

When I can use Cineform program (HDLink) without the Cineform codec, I will be so happy! I would pay double!
M
Malameel Shawky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 8th, 2007, 11:55 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Doesn't sound like our error as I never heard of this, but please file a trouble ticket so support can do more investigation.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 04:22 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
I downloaded the demo.

Can I still make a trouble ticket?

At this point, I just want to remove all hints of Cineform.
M
Malameel Shawky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 10th, 2007, 04:41 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The un-install removes pretty much everything, so something else is up with your PC. You can ask support of course, they can point to directories to manually remove if the uninstall didn't, however the issue really has to be elsewhere.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 05:00 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
Now the new computer that has CineForm that I just purchased will not export from QT anymore either... This is a different computer than the one originally listed on this thread. I tried two other computers and it won't even install on those.

I did do a uninstall, regedits to remove and reinstall doing the same with Premiere but QT is still cribbled as well as Premiere.

The coincidence is pointing to CineForm.
M
Malameel Shawky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 05:15 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
I never heard of this so work with support.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 06:01 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
I am working with support.

I feel that "IF" other people are having issues, they shouldn't feel alone or that they need to be silenced. A community should be about sharing experience, good or bad and all news benefits the community. (Deleting threads only hurt the community because those are experiences that maybe help another who may blame themselves for an error when there could be a simple issue with the software so they are seeking the advice of others.)

I do hope to resolve the issue but there is something going on. I am only searching for an answer or help.
M
Malameel Shawky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 06:24 PM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Work with support first, otherwise users and myself stop reading here as it will get really borrowing. If you report on open tickets that hampers your and everyone else ticket processing. Stop it, please.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 09:06 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
If you report on open tickets that hampers your and everyone else ticket processing. Stop it, please.
I am sorry. I did not know that a public forum was confusing your internal database so I will stop. I just thought information was in everybody's interests.
M
Malameel Shawky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 09:37 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Seriously dude,

Cineform's software is a heckuva lot more stable than most video software I use. All my problems went back to Adobe, NOT Cineform.

Meanspirited posts like yours deter people from wanting to help you, you under stand that, right? Cineform's support has been nothing but top-notch in my experience, and the experience of this rather large community.

In the last month, you are the only person I have seen not gush over the responsiveness of their tech support, and myself and others have watched you be helped. I've watched David tell you numerous times to *talk to support*, but still continue to answer your questions. He's told you the proper way to handle the problem, and the reasons why, for instance in this case that he does not know the answer to your problem, to talk to support. Yet, he's been very nice and helpful from what I've seen, despite repeatedly ignored messages to file a trouble ticket. File it, and let the man get some peace. They have enough to worry about in 'Diego right now without working on your problem twice.

Carl
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 25th, 2007, 10:15 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malameel Shawky View Post
I feel that "IF" other people are having issues, they shouldn't feel alone or that they need to be silenced.
We all appreciate your frustrations of a time crunch. In a perfect world, you should have tested the workflow before hiring an editor, but life's not perfect and we've all been there done that. We empathize with your situation and we are all trying to help you. And yes, shared experiences are helpful. However, Cineform is one of the most responsive companies in the industry, and David is one of the most helpful employees of any forum on the net. In addition, the product is very solid, and many, many problems reported on this forum turn out to be some other application or hardware problem. And yet, David and Cineform tech support work to resolve the problem, often adding hooks to Cineform products to end-run problems in other applications.

That is why, Malameel, a post that starts with "Cineform" and "very buggy?" in the same title is considered way over the top to some members of this forum. If you are asking, are the Cineform products very buggy, I and others can assure you the answer is absolutely not. So, let's all just move on from that topic, as any further discussion in that vain is not helpful to anyone.

In summary, Cineform tech support and David are quite responsive and helpful. They know your money meter is running, and they will work quickly to resolve the problems. Best of luck, and I look forward to reading about your Cineform questions/experiences in the future.

Best,
Christopher
Christopher Glaeser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2007, 12:14 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 68
I promise one thing, I really am not trying to flame or bash or harm anybody and if it has been taken any other way, then I do apologize. I hope my frustrations do not seem more menacing then that of circumstances.

(Also, please note that this thread is not called buggy, but yes, the other thread was... This is about a problem that occurred on two different computers at QT stopped working after installing CineFrom.) I am just seeing if anybody has had similar experiences. I am guessing that since there are few replies, then no. See, I did learn something and so did everybody else.

I did test the workflow, but obviously not enough. I wouldn't not have paid for Prospect HD and hired and editor if I didn't but I probably did so in haste. I was happy that it all did seemed perfect but in when really using it I did run into problems.

Also, after viewing on here so many happy users, I know there has to be a successful and easy way to make it work. Maybe somebody here has had a similar experience and can shed some light. So far, the last response was that they didn't know. So normally communities would be helpful. Being told you can't talk about one's issues, even if valid, seems funny for a forum, especial since all I want is help and maybe people other than CineFrom can help.

You have been quite nice and helpful and a kind ear is sometimes all we need and a positive attitude. (tell me to be quite and submit a ticket is not nice when other could help, IMHO.) So thank you, Christopher. Again, if this is taken any other way than informative, I apologize.
M
Malameel Shawky is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network