Maximum Spatial Resolution at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 13th, 2007, 06:47 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
Maximum Spatial Resolution

I note on the Prospect product page that the max. spatial resolution for capture and export is 2048.

We are looking at using high resolution stop frame image sequences from a Digital SLR (4K) rendered in AE to Cineform AVI's. Is this supported?

Not looking to edit at 4K as we eventually render out to 2K but it would be nice for some effects sequences composited within AE.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 07:36 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Dean, what is the desired size of the rendered CineForm clips? If 2K then Prospect 2K will work great. There is no limit on the input resolution, only the resolution rendered into CineForm files.

We actually have a 4K build internally but we haven't sent it outside yet. But again that is only required when the rendered output is greater than 2K.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 11:48 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
Desired size was 4K and only for some effects shots where the extra resolution would be nice to have. I infer from your answer that Prospect 2K means max 2K.

Its actually not a problem any way as we can just use the 4K image sequences as is, composite and then render 2K for editing.

Thanks for the answer.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 12:41 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Dean, if you're using just AE (not PPro) then you can use Neo 2K. If Premiere Pro is part of your workflow then use Prospect 2K instead of Neo 2K.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 06:44 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 51
Thanks for the advice David. PPro2 and now CS3 are part of the workflow.
Dean Gough is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:12 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network