Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2007, 08:38 PM   #46
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,070
Steven, if you have NEO, Aspect or Prospect installed, then cfhd.dll is found in its normal location and you don't need the Sony version.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 04:08 AM   #47
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 54
Really weird problem, since I have not had any problems with NEO HDV. I'm currently working with a project which uses footage converted more than 6 months ago from m2t to Cineform AVI and they work like charm. I also re-converted few clips to see if this has something to do with the current NEO HDV -version but those worked 100% OK also.

I also removed/reinstalled VP8 (because that is required when going from trial to registered version) and nothing broke.

The problem must be something else than just the .dll which came with the VP8. The only thing to do still is to remove V7 and see what happens but I'm not intending to do that for some time.

P.S. Getting significantly higher framerates on preview with VP8 with same settings.
Matti Remonen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 07:10 AM   #48
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kelkheim, Germany
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Ravens View Post
I disabled the CFHD.dll that shipped with V8. This seems to have solved the problem. ;o)
Good to hear. But how do I disable CFHD.dll? Simply delete it? Thanks for clarification in advance.

Update: I just deleted it. It works. Hope I did right.
__________________
Michael
Michael Mann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 08:16 AM   #49
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
You can delete it, or just rename it CFHD.old or whatever you choose.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 08:42 AM   #50
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,070
Matti,

The fault is not widespread, your PC is just working correctly. The presences of the old cfhd.dll is not the error, it is Vegas's error to use it when a newer version is present -- this only occurs on some systems.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 10:05 AM   #51
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: santa fe, nm
Posts: 3,264
Images: 10
David...

Just an FYI...

You may not recall my previous problems with Neo HDV registration. It may be possible that the problem lies not with Cineform or Sony, but, with a registry corruption on some machines.
Bill Ravens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 10:59 AM   #52
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,070
Bill, I totally agree. I believe Sony is using the registry to determine the existance of the newer CineForm components, and it seems the registry is sometimes incorrect.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 11:29 AM   #53
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Makati, Metro Manila
Posts: 2,704
Images: 32
My system was having similar problems, but it's all working now.
Solution: Re-installed NEO HDV after Vegas Pro 8.

Notes:
For my issues it looks like the Sony Vegas Pro 8 install is the one that's not updating/reading the registry properly.
__________________
"Ultimately, the most extraordinary thing, in a frame, is a human being." - Martin Scorsese
Michael Wisniewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 11:36 AM   #54
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Wisniewski View Post
My system was having the same type of problem, but it's all working now. Fixed it by re-installing NEO HDV after installing Vegas Pro 8.

Notes:
For my issue it looks like the Sony Vegas Pro 8 install is the one that's not updating/reading the registry properly.
Hmm.
This maybe the main fix.
Steven Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12th, 2007, 05:59 PM   #55
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sonora, CA USA
Posts: 50
Am I seeing the same issue:
I capture a avi from the HV20 using HDLINK/NEOHD trial version.. I open up the video in vegas 8 trial version, and all I get in the video timeline is solid red.

To solve it, I had to go back into HDLINK prefs and check 'enable smart rendering' and recapture the video.

Then I could see the video on the timeline when I added it in vegas.

Thanks,
Bob C
Bob Curnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 02:53 AM   #56
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 141
i'm using neo hdv: "Build 3.0.2.131 14-June-2007" with vegas 8 and it works fine. it opens old projects from v7, and i can read cineform files into new projects. no problems here.
Ali Husain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2007, 09:36 AM   #57
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,070
Everyone should update to NEO 3.1.1, which was released yesterday.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 08:53 PM   #58
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 27
CineForm NEO and Sony Vegas 8

David,

Recently I downloaded the demo of VegasPro8 and Neo2K. I was hoping that maybe these new releases would work out the lack of recognizable timecode in the AVIs (doesn't seem to work in .mov files either).

Back in Aug you posted this response to someone else.

"We try not to missing things, but timecode is not supported for historical reasons. AVI has no standard mechanism for storing timecode. If you use our Premiere integrated products (Aspect or Prospect HD) you do get timecode as we created the AVI importer. But outside of Premiere everyone implements timecode differently or not at all."

Timecode support is important to me. If anyone else finds this important please say so - maybe if there is enough interest this can be addressed.

Can this be solved?

Pete
Peter Plevritis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 09:23 PM   #59
Sponsor: CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,070
It works in Premiere as Adobe defined an API for timecode, allowing us to implement timecode as we see fit, so if you capture to CineForm within Premiere you get timecode. Vegas however is using VfW, so are separated from the application, with not standard way to communicate timecode (none that I know of.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.cineform.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14th, 2007, 09:35 PM   #60
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 27
Raylight AVIs (created from HVX200 mxf files) seem to contain timecode that Vegas can recognize.

So does that mean perhaps there is a way?

Pete
Peter Plevritis is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network