Anyone using prospect in FCP 6 yet? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 23rd, 2007, 10:08 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Anyone using prospect in FCP 6 yet?

Anyone care to share their experience? Thanks.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2007, 07:10 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
nobody using Prospect and FC Studio 2?
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 1st, 2007, 11:32 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 25
AFAIK Prospect DOES NOT work FCP. What you probably want to know is if anyone is using Neo (HD/2K) on FCP. Aspect and Prospect are still Premiere Pro exclusive. As for me I'm heavily evaluating FCP and NEO 2K or Premiere Pro with Prospect. Don't know which I will use yet for my feature (hoping to shoot next summer).
__________________
David Kirlew
David Kirlew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 10:41 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Well said David. In both Prospect HD/2K and Neo HD/2K we include the CineForm Mac codec. So specifically it is our Mac codec that is really the question. We have many, many people using the codec in feature film work, and it seems to be working great, both 4:2:2 and 4:4:4.

Note - we include both a Windows and Mac installers in the Neo and Prospect products. The Mac installer is the (Intel) Mac codec only as the conversion utilities (Neo) and the Premiere editing software (Prospect) don't run on Mac. For a Mac-only workflow you'd use the Windows Neo install on Parallels or Bootcamp for conversion utilities, and then run your converted material (with the Mac codec) on MacOS using FCP, AE, etc.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 12:51 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
I've done some reading, and I'm finding that getting a mac will be beneficial to many things, other than just edit. I have the PC platform, I do use HDLink (using it to capture some media this very moment.. I couldn't multitask going the PPro route).
So burning some movs to an array and dropping them on the mac makes perfect sence. If need be, I can cut/use those movs on the PC.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 04:27 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
Cineform vs ProRes

What would be the difference in using Cineform vs ProRes 422 in FCS 2?
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 05:04 PM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
CineForm supports 4:4:4 in addition to 4:2:2 and is cross platform, ProRES is 4:2:2 YUV only and works in Apple products only. ProRES doesn't yet work correctly in After Effects on the Mac (and I assume other non-Apple tools), as it decodes as 8-bit with the wrong color space. Of course if you stay with 4:2:2 and FCS2 you will fine using ProRES.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 2nd, 2007, 06:21 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wyomissing, PA
Posts: 1,141
Images: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
... Of course if you stay with 4:2:2 and FCS2 you will fine using ProRES.
That's scary. I've already run into issues with outside shops needing media, and I've had to settle for Jpeg compressed mov's on disk. I've instructed them to visit cineform and they like the idea. Only thing holding back is an upgrade to intel Macs.

I had to forward a job to an outside firm using avids on PCs, and gave them prospect files and included the free neo player along with.
__________________
Pete Ferling http://ferling.net It's never a mistake if you learn something new from it.
-------------------------------------------
Peter Ferling is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network