Cineform AE files into Premiere with Alpha at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 12th, 2007, 09:55 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Cineform AE files into Premiere with Alpha

Hey all,

I'm working on streamlining a TV show using Cineform, and want to move from using after effects to render out graphics as Quicktime Animation w/ Alpha towards using Cineform, was hoping to cut down on renders.

This episode, I rendered out all the graphics as Cineform High HD Optimized with Alpha channel on. However, when imported into Premiere and dropped on a timeline, all the alpha channeled areas (which I have set to an annoyingly bright pink) all appear as such, instead of properly overlaying. It does not give a red need-to-render bar above the clip, so I don't believe that is the problem.

I know that the AE project files are correct, as this is episode 9, and it has been working fine. I also triplechecked my alpha channel settings. Does Cineform not properly support alpha channels? If so, is there a better preset you guys would recommend? The project is 1080i, final delivery made by m2t tape.

Thanks a million!
Carl
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2007, 10:38 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Alpha support is within NEO 2K and Prospect 2K only. Is that what you are running?
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2007, 11:03 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Nope, aspect HD.

I kind of figured with how vital graphics are to any real production, that alpha channel support would be a part of aspect... especially with the advertised AE compatibility. Almost everything I've ever done in AE has some sort of alpha channel work, even if only a transition at the end.... Alpha channels aren't only used in 2k projects, yaknow? :D Graphics overlays and speed/time manipulation are the two things requiring a lot of rendering for me while using cineform, was hoping to knock that one out with a switch to Cineform files in this latest episode. Rerendering now as QT/Animation.


C
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network