cineform 10 bit to prores422 and back? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2007, 04:38 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 35
cineform 10 bit to prores422 and back?

cineform 10 bit to prores422 and back?

does anyone have any experience with cross conversion between the two? thinking of capturing via prores and aja io hd with a macbook pro on set but have a mean dual quad homebuilt at the studio that is a pc that i also like to use, so wandering if anyone has any opinions?
Graham Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 10:09 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
You can convert between the two, however Prores is Mac only and only is 10-bit within a select few (Apple branded) applications, so you can't use After Effects or similar to convert to CineForm as Prores messes with the color and bit depth. You can use FCP to export to a CineForm MOV and move that to the PC. The CineForm MOV can be used on an Intel Mac or Windows PC.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 10:39 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 35
is there going to be any loss in quality since they are both lossless types other than time. i spend a lot of time in the field and want to use a lossless codec via hd-sdi, hence the apple solution, but i know i will want to primarily use my pc when at the studio.

Last edited by Graham Morton; November 7th, 2007 at 10:43 AM. Reason: lengthen
Graham Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 11:00 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Would the option to convert Cineform AVI to Cineform MOV be helpful in your workflow?

No render time, and still taking advantage of the Cineform codec the whole way through.

Also, if you are capturing in prores, then going to cineform, if the capture itself is 8bit you should be fine, but David's comments will be very important if you're capturing at a higher color resolution.

C
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 11:33 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Fl
Posts: 35
no the capture is 10 bit uncompressed hd-sdi 4.2.2 1920 x 1080 using the aja io hd. just wandering about image quality and time to change from prores to cineform 4.2.2 10 bit with prospect hd or neo hd. also the file size difference would also be better for storage.

Last edited by Graham Morton; November 7th, 2007 at 11:34 AM. Reason: add on
Graham Morton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 10:59 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 1,095
Quote:
Would the option to convert Cineform AVI to Cineform MOV be helpful in your workflow?
You can do lossless re-wrapping of a CineForm AVI to MOV or vice-versa inside of HDLink (Windows only at the moment). Simply select the output wrapper type in the preferences when doing a file conversion.

Thanks,

Jason
Jason Rodriguez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:30 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network