New Aspect/Prosect HD/2K version in beta open beta at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 6th, 2007, 11:11 PM   #1
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
New Aspect/Prosect HD/2K version in beta open beta

Welcome to version 3.2 (PHD/P2K) and v5.2 (AHD.) There have been I lot of under-the-hood changes and some new features and several bug fixes. As so many elements have changed in the release, I though I should beta test with DVInfo users first -- you are a calmer, more thoughtful lot. :)

Another reason to release as beta, is HD Expo is on for the next couple of days, halving our support staff at the office. So anything you find wrong with the beta post here or send a measage my DVInfo account -- I'm not going to HD Expo (sadly it is a show I always miss, yet I've heard good things http://www.hdexpo.net/.) If all goes well we hope that 3.2 can be out officially sometime next week.

Big additions :

1) NVidia level shifts, we stopping trying to use their broken YUV surface, now you can preview to RGB surface, preventing the color shift. In the playback controls you can now set whether to use YUV surface or not.

2) M2T export is back, and much better than before, as it now uses the Tsunami MPEG2 Encoder directly through the CineForm M2T export movie option. As it has been a long time since this worked correctly, here is a technote to remind everyone how to use the M2T export : http://www.cineform.com/products/Tec.../M2TExport.htm

Links:

Prospect HD : http://www.miscdata.com/cineform/Pro....141-Setup.zip
Prospect 2K : http://www.miscdata.com/cineform/Pro....141-Setup.zip
Aspect HD : http://www.miscdata.com/cineform/Asp...0.94-Setup.zip
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman

Last edited by David Newman; November 6th, 2007 at 11:47 PM.
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 11:17 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
David,

I may be a complete dunce, but where can I download the beta? :)

Carl
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 11:47 PM   #3
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Links are now up in post (sorry!)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 6th, 2007, 11:53 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
Looking foward to this one!

Also, finally got around to testing 50i (no cineframe, Z1) -> force progressive, slow 4%.

Looks phenomenal! I don't think I'll be filming in 60i anymore. :)

Working towards an endgame plan with all this, I really am, more news to come if it comes to fruition and becomes something worthy of tossing in your press kit. I can think of some nice blurbs about how Cineform has been instrumental in pushing my workflow to the next level. :)

Carl
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 05:41 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 26
New Aspect/Prosect HD/2K version in beta open beta

The clips captured with Apect 5.2 (beta) converted to avi look good and play well with classic media player and in after effects but collapse into horizontal stripes in PPro CS3. Still images in Premiere look great and exporting to Canon xh-a1 works fine. I reinstalled Aspect 5.1 build 92 and the clips captured with Apect 5.2 (beta) now worked the way they should in PPro CS3.

Thanks for all your improvements and expertise!

Carlos Bustamante
Carlos Bustamante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 08:25 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 539
What are the proper steps for exporting a 24p timeline back to a Sony V1U in 60i? Is it as simple as setting up the export settings as 29.97fps or is there a specific pulldown technique I need to be adding?

Can't wait to try out the new beta when I get home.
Thanks David!
Craig Irving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 10:25 AM   #7
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Carlos, Thanks for your report, testing was mainly down in Prospect, not supprizing to hear of an Aspect glitch in the beta. We will look into it.


Craig, 1080p24 exports are automatic from a 24p timeline. The CineForm M2T export will ingest the necessary pulldown for 24p to be exported back to HDV. No place 24p on a 60i timeline as Premiere tends to frame blend rather than adding pulldown (looks bad.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 10:55 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
David,

When I try to uncheck Force YUV in the Playback Settings, and hit ok, it reverts back to checked.

When I play back, I still get the color shift, and when I go into playback settings again I find the check mark back. I tried accessing it from Project Settings as well as through the preview monitor pulldown menu, same results.

I also tried a couple of random renders in HDLink, worked fine. I'll be testing more randomness later, any hints as to what you feel might need to be put through the paces in the new version?

Also, with this new version, can I test export to m2t, or will it use the 1.5 render engine like it has been? I don't really want to uninstall 1.5 to test it out, but I would like to test it for ya. :)

Carl
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 11:58 AM   #9
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
We reporting issues, please include whioch of the 3 three products your are using.

As for CineForm M2T export, all Premiere versions run CineForm will now use the Tsumani encoder.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 12:15 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
David, were you able to include any new changes to this new Prospect beta that could affect the problem with PP3 and the RAM memory running out of headroom? I'd download it this sec if that's a possibility...
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 12:22 PM   #11
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Adobe memory shortage issue have already been addressed about as much as we can. CineForm pretty much supports larger HD projects than any other vendor, now it is up to Adobe.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 12:24 PM   #12
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Carlos,

Your issue doesn't happen here. Try a re-install as your PC is behaving like it doesn't have an importer for Premiere.

For CS3 users the importer (im-CFHD_File_Import.prm) is installed :
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Common\Plug-ins\CS3\MediaCore
and
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Premiere Pro CS3\Plug-ins\en_US\CineForm

Check those locations.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 12:25 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
One more thing: is that Tsunami encoder the same one included in TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress ?
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 12:32 PM   #14
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Confirmed : Force YUV in the Playback Settings isn't sticking in Aspect HD, in Prospect this work fine. The fix is complete in house.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2007, 12:32 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Natal, RN, Brasil
Posts: 900
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Newman View Post
Adobe memory shortage issue have already been addressed about as much as we can. CineForm pretty muchs support larger HD projects than any other vendor, now it is up to Adobe.
Ok, I guess we might as well just figure that until 64bit Adobe versions come out, we're up the creek.

We have to dynamic-link a lot of stuff to AE just to see it and get it to render correctly, and that makes previewing in PP3 a joke! We broke up everything into little bitty sub-projects and still have probs with multi layers of 1920 video or mixing large images and video. At this rate, we'll end up just using AE !
__________________
http://lightinaction.org
"All in the view of the LION"
Stephen Armour is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network