No Video Overlay with Aspect 5.2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 18th, 2007, 10:00 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
No Video Overlay with Aspect 5.2

I'm using a Quadro 1500 which was giving me excellent full screen video output from PPro CS3 timeline, etc. with Aspect 5.x Build 92
Just installed Aspect 5.2 and cannot get full screen video overlay output.
Video Overlay is checked in Cineform Playback settings.
All of the Quadro settings are normal for TV overlay output
One odd thing: When PPro boots up the project, for a brief second the video overlay monitor displays a still image from the location of the CTI, then when the Cineform splash screen starts, the image dissapears and no more video output.
Is this a bug, or do I need to change a setting somewhere???
Thanks
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 12:31 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
They added a checkbox under playback settings called Force YUV Overlay. Ideally you want it unchecked for Nvidia cards, but I would recommend trying it each way and see if it changes anything for you.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 12:41 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Mike
You are a genius!
Checking "force yuv playback" brought the video overlay back online. I'm not at all sure what it means exactly to be forcing yuv desktop playback, but I'm back in business and everything looks about right.
Thanks
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 19th, 2007, 04:04 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 517
The Force YUV checkbox causes Cineform to process video overlay in YUV mode instead of RGB. In previous versions, it was always YUV, but Nvidia cards have inconsistent implementation of that, making RGB overlay desirable in most cases. RGB Overlay is supposed to get rid of the color shift between stills and playback in Premiere with Cineform projects. It works well for me, but certain cards will work better in YUV mode.
__________________
For more information on these topics, check out my tech website at www.hd4pc.com
Mike McCarthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20th, 2007, 05:52 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Coronado Island
Posts: 1,452
Interesting.
I checked the nVidea software settings and couldn't find anything for RGB vs YUV, so the need for YUV overlay must be an inherent property of this card.
Robert Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 21st, 2007, 12:29 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
The 8800 GTS series is YUV only, I know. I got all excited when the RGB possibility came out through Cineform, only to realize nVidia had shot me in the foot again. :)

Carl
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:11 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network