Prospect HD - Mac at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 5th, 2007, 09:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
Prospect HD - Mac

Does Prospect HD for the Mac offer everything Prospect HD for the PC has?
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 10:26 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Prospect HD is a Windows product for Premiere Pro, however it does include a license to the Mac version of the CineForm codec. We will be porting more to the Mac over time.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 10:55 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
Thanks for you qiuck response but...

My company is going to buy prospect HD for the mac which is 1000.

What do you get for that? Does that include performance gains in Premeire Pro for the Mac? What is included? I checked your website and it appeared to have everything the windows version had. It said mac is supported under your CineForm Product Selector Guide.

Thank you.
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 01:19 PM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
On the Mac it is the codec only. Prospect HD is a Windows tool, with a Mac libcense for the compression only. It does say that on the web site, but understand how this can be confusing.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 01:41 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
What do you recomend we buy for the mac?
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 01:45 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Todd, Neo HD is the proper product for Mac. It also comes with two licenses - one for Windows and one for Mac. The Mac license is our Mac codec (only) and the Windows license includes all of our useful conversion utilities for telecine removal, deinterlacing, spatial resampling, image flip, speed change, etc. It will also capture through HD-SDI and Firewire.

Currently the Windows portion only runs on Windows, so we're giving two licenses - one Mac and one Windows. At some point most of this will be ported to the Mac which will eliminate the need for the Windows license with the Mac product. I hope the logic there makes sense.

You can run the Windows portion for ingest (HD-SDI / FW) under Bootcamp, and the conversion utilities under either Bootcamp or Parallels.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 02:15 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Parma, Oh
Posts: 172
Thanks for the quick reply David.

I was wondering...is it possible to capture and use all the utilities on a windows machine and use those converted files on a mac if we used ".mov" option in the conversion to make them quicktime?
Todd Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 02:21 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Quote:
Originally Posted by Todd Clark View Post
Thanks for the quick reply David.

I was wondering...is it possible to capture and use all the utilities on a windows machine and use those converted files on a mac if we used ".mov" option in the conversion to make them quicktime?
Yes absolutely. The Windows installer can run on a separate Windows box or else on your Mac using Bootcamp/Parallels.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 10:14 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
any chance of having Prospect HD work on premiere cs3 on a mac, so i can edit 1920/1080 at 24p

like in the future?

actually i dont even care about realtime. so even neo would be cool.

ive been using windows for 17 years, i wanna switch to mac lol
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 5th, 2007, 11:44 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
We have 10s of man-years invested in our PC workflow, and so-far we have 1s of man-years invested on the Mac workflow. You can in fact do an online 1080p24 workflow in CS3 on Mac, although the performance isn't yet up to our PC standards. But we'll get there. In the mean time, file transfers between the platforms are seamless and is very helpful for those with cross-platform needs.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 04:25 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 323
Out of interest, does HDLink work at all within a virtual machine such as VMWare Fusion or Parallels when run as a standalone program?
__________________
Company Website: Digital Foundry Ltd
Video Games HD Blog: Digital Foundry@Eurogamer
Richard Leadbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 04:42 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
HDLink works great inside Parallels for all file-based conversion features, but not for capture. Unfortunately Parallels does not support Firewire interfaces, although they tell me they intend to add that by middle of next year. We have not tried VMWare, but I suspect it should work fine.
David Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 06:24 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
hey david what do you mean by online workflow?

"You can in fact do an online 1080p24 workflow in CS3 on Mac"

hope this isnt a silly question lol.
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 6th, 2007, 06:28 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
online, in this case, basically means full quality.

"offline" editing is to capture low resolution copies of the source footage, edit, then later go back in and recapture full quality.

"online" editing is to capture full quality from the beginning, edit, and output.

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network