Getting the most out of my upgrades and migration at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 7th, 2007, 08:35 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 5
Getting the most out of my upgrades and migration

I have been using the old HD link with Vegas 6,7,8 then purchased NEO HDV but have yet to encode anything with it. Do I need to re-encode with NEO, and if so from tape or convert the avi an older HDlink AVI in NEO? and I shoot with an HDR-HC1 in 1080i only.

In another move I have decided to give Adobe CS3 with premiere and After Effects a real hard look and bought the suite. Coincidentaly I have also upgraded to Aspect HD as I love the cineform results in Vegas.

Do I need to re-encode in Aspect HDlink to get better results in Adobe? I am also still more familiar with Vegas and will probably rely on that heavily for a bit. Should I not encode with Aspect HD and use them in Vegas? Again all is 1080i from the HDR-HC1.

Thanks in advance
Adam Mendelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 08:45 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
No, you should not have to reencode. AspectHD is 8 bit color, 1440x1080, as is Neo HDV.

The only difference is you can now work with your Cineform files inside of Premiere, using the filters marked Cineform or 'AHD' without waiting on a render!

It's a wonderful process, you'll love it. :) But to answer your question, no, a reencode is not necessary unless you upgrade to ProspectHD or something, that supports a frame size or color depth.

Carl

EDIT - Did you have the 'enable smart rendering' checkbox checked when you converted this footage? It's the Vegas specific one, which I am not familiar with the use and effects thereof. If you had that checked when converting your source files, someone else may be better able to answer if a re-render is recommended.
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 08:59 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Purcellville, VA
Posts: 5
yes I have used the vegas check box... and thanks for answering my suspsicions love this cineframe stuf!
Adam Mendelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 7th, 2007, 09:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fernandina Beach, FL
Posts: 562
To clarify - I still don't think a render would improve quality - just maybe file size? I'm not sure, but I think all the Vegas checkbox does is lower the compression a bit to be easier on the processor. I think you should still be fine without a rerender, but doing so may free up some hard drive space.

Don't quote me on this though! :) Maybe someone more knowledgeable will chime in. :)

C
__________________
Carl Middleton
Whizkid Mediaworks
Carl Middleton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network