ANOTHER 24p question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 13th, 2007, 07:16 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 110
ANOTHER 24p question

Using Neo HDV, I'm capturing footage from both the V1U and the HV20. In preferences in HDLink, I set the Rate Change to "No Rate Change," correct? Then, using Vegas as my NLE, in Properties, do I set the Frame Rate to 23.976 or 24? I guess the overall question is: is my frame rate workflow from those cameras going to be 23.976 or 24? Also, if I'm using this workflow, is it redundant to also check off to Deinterlace?

Last edited by James Campbell; December 13th, 2007 at 09:46 AM.
James Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2007, 10:04 AM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
All "video" 24p cameras are 23.976p, and that is the frame rate to edit in. If you have a progressive camera (even if it uses pulldown to store the image) do NOT also use deinterlace, as it will only lower your vertical resolution.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 09:52 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 110
Excellent, thanks. Also, on both of those cameras, if I shoot in their 24p mode, in HDLink I would then choose Frame Format: Progressive?

Second Question: If I shoot in the 1080i format, and I want to make it progressive, I would set HDLink Preferences to: Frame Format: Interlaced but choose the De-Interlace 1080i and DV Sources option?
James Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 10:39 AM   #4
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
The Prosgressive encoding option describes the output format, not the input. So 1080i source, if deinterlaced, should be set to Progressive or Automatic (which sees that de-int. is selected and internally sets de-interlace.)
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 02:33 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
i also have a v1u. make sure its set to 24pA not 24p but im sure u know this.
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2007, 02:59 PM   #6
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
It doesn't matter to CineForm which 24p mode is used.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 02:58 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 293
huh

interesting. why is this? if its too long of an answer can you send me a link that will explain?



thanks !
Dave Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 10:53 AM   #8
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Try the opposite, why are you convinced to use Sony's 24pA. It should not be confused with Panasonic's 24pA(dvanced), which is different and has recording advantages, and we also handle automatically.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 19th, 2007, 06:34 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 110
Actually, I've never used the 24pA setting. Most of what I've read... I don't see the upside.
James Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2008, 01:35 PM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Campinas-SP
Posts: 5
24p (m2t) ingested in Premiere as 29,97. Is that right?

When I import a M2T file into premiere (shot with HD110 24p) it assumes the file as 29,97fps. Does any one is having this problem? Is that right?

In AE it is not a problem because it is possible to correct te fps interpretation without messing the audio, but in Premiere if I try to make it assume the file as 23,976fps, the audio gets messy.

Usually I convert my files in HDlink before work with them. When I convet to AVI the files using HDlink the imported file is corectelly read as 24p. But once in while I use some files in its native form, .... don't know ... maybe never notice it before, but I'm pretty sure that the file should be read as 23,976fps.... right?
Marcelo Mazzariol is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network