Prospect M2T export issues at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

CineForm Software Showcase
Cross platform digital intermediates for independent filmmakers.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 15th, 2007, 05:42 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Prospect M2T export issues

Okay, I was having issues with the export crashing under vista and XP.
So, I decided to update to XP X64 and see what happens.
Well, it is not crashing now, but, it still it not working correctly.

So, my project is 1:39:43 in time. Now, if I assume 30 frames per second,
I think this gives me 179490 frames?

So, I used the M2T export process. So, right off the bat, something is different. (The project is using prospect, 10 bit, 1920x1080 mode)
When I first tried under vista, and the last version of the s/w, it followed
the CF export process to a tee. Meaning, it defaulted to 1920x1080 so I had
to change to 1440x1080, 1.33 just like the process stated.

Well, now when I do the same thing, it already has the 1440x1080 set.
This is not what happen before. Did something change?

So, now I export the project. Well, it says there is 143488 frames to render,
(which seems too few based on the above calculation, if right), and it takes about 8 hours, all the frames are rendered, it says 100% done, but never stops. I have to manually kill CS3.

Okay, it does give me a M2T file. But, guess what, when I play it, it is like
2 hours and 39 minutes long. How can this happen? It plays fine until the
1:39 point, but then it is all black after that. I have verified there is nothing in my project after 1:39 in length.

So in summary I have 2 issues.

1). The output is not the correct length, it is much longer than my project.
2). It never shuts down the export, I have to manually kill CS3.

So, any ideas?

Thanks
Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 05:47 PM   #2
CTO, CineForm Inc.
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Posts: 8,090
Send you finding to support. Hopeful they can look into this next week.
__________________
David Newman -- web: www.gopro.com
blog: cineform.blogspot.com -- twitter: twitter.com/David_Newman
David Newman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 06:09 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Okay, but I did some more testing since this is driving me nuts.
(But, having it work in X64 XP is GREAT!!)

Now, I decided to do just 5 minutes, and see if the frames were correct.
Well, guess what, when I looked at the frame rate, it said 24!!
Once I changed to 29.97, I got the correct frames. So, am trying it again.

But, something has changed in your last release. Meaning, I verified my project is seen as a 1920X1080. So, when I do the export, it should show up as 1920X1080, 1.0 pixels, which it did with the previous release.
Now, it does 1440X1080, 1.33 pixels, and 24 FPS!! So, I was not looking
to have to change the frame rate, since it should default, I assume, to 29.97.

So, will put this info in on my existing ticket. Progress, but, I am seeing something not seeming to work correctly with the latest Prospect release,
compared to the previous, which was working correctly.

(But, maybe it is still me messing up.)

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 15th, 2007, 10:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Okay, changing to 29.97 fixed the M2T issue. I still need to look at another project and see what the settings do. I will then load the new beta and see what happens. But, I am exporting back to tape now!! Great after a year of trying to get it all to work!!!!

Yea Cineform!!

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 10:27 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 568
Tried another project, and the settings are correct. Must have been something in cache. So, finally, by using XP X64, my export to m2t does not crash anymore, and I got my project to tape! YEA!!!!!!!

Dave
Dave Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 16th, 2007, 01:36 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Solana Beach, CA
Posts: 853
Dave, congratulations. We know this has been a long desire and source of frustration for you at times. We also suspect your project has done a reasonably good job of testing the end-to-end workflow, so we're happy for your success from our standpoint too.
David Taylor is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Cross-Platform Post Production Solutions > CineForm Software Showcase

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network